Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

CDLC News

From the Director, March 2019

by Kariann Kakeh on 2019-03-21T14:46:00-04:00 in From the Director | Comments
Registration for the Annual Meeting on May 10 is Open!

From the Director.....

Dear CDLC members and supporters,

Education. Collections. Connections. These are the driving principles of CDLC, as reflected in our mission statement: "We partner with members to strengthen library service through education, shared collections and local connections."

Thanks to our staff, Board, committee members, interest group facilitators, and members, we are expanding our programs, highlighting and creating access to your physical and digital collections, and connecting members across library types.

Come be a part of this: enjoy the afternoon at our Annual Meeting and hear about the library collections at Union College and the local connections being made by our high school to college transition interest group. Take this opportunity to meet up with friends, share ideas and make new connections.


Local Connections

Speaking of our interest groups, these member-led groups are opportunities to learn and share knowledge about specific topics. Open to all, meetings are generally an hour and take place at CDLC unless otherwise noted. Meet up with other information professionals in the region.

Our dedicated committee members provide guidance and recommendations to increase the visibility and provide access to members and their collections. The Committee on Resource Sharing is discussing the Direct Access Program and how members can share physical collections across library types. The Regional Automation Advisory Committee is offering oral history programs and considering a Tech Lending Library for members, and the Collection Development Committee is planning member tours and programs. We will be seeking new committee members this Summer-visit our committee page to see how to become involved!

NYLA PRESIDENT IN ALBANY

NYLA President Michelle Young is visiting CDLC on Thursday, April 4 from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. Michelle is bringing together librarians and library workers from across all types of libraries to share in innovative ideas, explore and identify collaborative opportunities, and to further the discussion of improving diversity and inclusion in librarianship. Join us to share all of the great work being done in our region!

Shared Collections

At the recommendation of the Regional Automation Advisory Committee, the CDLC Board of Trustees recently approved $41,000 in funding to 11 libraries for Regional Collection Grants. Recipients will contribute their digital collections to New York Heritage and NYS Historic Newspapers or catalog their collections. Congrats to all!

The Collection Development Committee is highlighting regional collections, including on March 29 at 2:00 p.m. at Voorheesville Public Library (NOTE: only a few spaces are left).

Plans are also in the works to tour the University at Albany's Special Collections on June 21.

This committee is also hosting Weeding and Feeding Your Collection at the Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library on Monday, April 29, from 9:30 am-12:30 pm.

Do you have oral histories to share, or are you interested in this topic? Talking about Oral Histories takes place Wednesday, April 10, from 9:30 am-noon at CDLC. This initial meeting is intended as an opportunity to share your ideas on how to conduct a successful oral history or what tools you need if you are considering one.

SAVE THE DATE

Our High School to College Transition Interest Group is planning a program on Monday, June 3 at The College of Saint Rose focused on helping students with special needs make the transition to college. Registration coming soon.

SOMETHING DIFFERENT!

Have you heard about the Schoharie Easter Egg Museum? After a five-year hiatus, they will open three weekends in April, with all proceeds benefiting the Schoharie Free Library. You can also stop in to the Middleburgh Library just down the road. Both libraries are CDLC members through the Mohawk Valley Library System.

CONNECT IN SARATOGA

Thanks to the efforts of InfoMingle organizers Erica Freudenberger (Southern Adirondack Library System) and Johanna MacKay (Skidmore College), plans are underway for our next InfoMingle on Wednesday, June 12 at Skidmore College. Registration coming soon.

COME MEET COLE!

Last year CDLC partnered with the Western New York Library Resources Council and attorney  Stephanie Cole Adams to bring the Ask the Lawyer Service to our region. This has been a popular service, with questions asked by libraries from across the state posted to a Recently Asked Questions page.

I'm excited to welcome Cole back to our region to present two programs on June 7 at Schenectady County Public Library. Copyright for Librarians in 2019 is the morning session, and Supporting Stories: Legal Guidance for Oral History Projects takes place in the afternoon. Sign up early-seats are limited!


Your comments and suggestions are always welcome.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Gundrum


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
© 2019 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500

Directions