Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

CDLC News

From the Director, May 2019

by Kariann Kakeh on 2019-05-01T16:11:00-04:00 in From the Director | Comments
What have we been up to? Read our Annual Report!
From the Director.....
Dear CDLC Members and Supporters, 
It was great to see many of you at our Annual Meeting - thank you for coming and for your ongoing support. Also, a very special thanks to our speakers: Frances Maloy shared info. about library collections at Union College while Kerrie Burch (Questar III BOCES) and Carol Anne Germain (University at Albany) discussed our High School to College Transition Interest Group. The day wrapped up with members' sharing information about unique regional collections they are aware of (there are many!) and CDLC Board of Trustee election results. 

We are excited to welcome our newly elected Board members! Filling the three at-large positions are Kerrie Burch, Questar III BOCES, Library System Director; Joanna DiPasquale, Union College, Director of Content & Digital Library Systems; and Jacquie Keleher, SUNY Schenectady County Community College, Director of Library Services. Mary Zawacki, Schenectady County Historical Society Director, was elected to fill a Non-Librarian Research Community seat. We also welcome Sara Dallas, Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS) back to the Board, filling the SALS seat. Their terms begin July 1.
In Case You Missed It: Join us for two informative programs presented by Stephanie Cole Adams, the attorney for CDLC's Ask the Lawyer service on Friday, June 7 at Schenectady County Public Library. Copyright for Librarians in 2019 is the morning program, followed by Supporting Stories: Legal Guidance for Oral History Projects in the afternoon.
Local Connections
Join us for Bridging the Gap: Preparing High School Special Needs Students for Success in College, an all-day program on Monday, June 3 at The College of Saint Rose. Organized by our High School to College Transition Interest Group, there is an impressive line-up of speakers. 

If you couldn't make it to the Annual Meeting and want to connect with local colleagues, join us for the next InfoMingle on Wednesday, June 12 at Skidmore College at 3 pm. It's a casual opportunity to meet others in the area, and also to visit Lucy Scribner Library at Skidmore. 

Welcome to Tariyka Chaulk from HFM BOCES SLS, who has joined our Regional Automation Advisory Committee. She fills a School Library System seat vacated by Jane Bentley. 

CORS had several resignations due to retirements or new positions: Jane Bentley (Questar III BOCES), Timothy Jackson (University at Albany), Deb Booth (HFM BOCES SLS), Debra Wellspeak (Albany Medical College) and Andrea Herman (Crandall Public Library). Thank you for their contributions. We are seeking several vacancies for our Committee on Resource Sharing. A call for members will be going out this Summer, or you can contact me if you may be interested. 
OF POSSIBLE INTEREST: At the Scholarly Communication Interest Group meeting last week, we had an informative discussion led by Michael Daly of SUNY OER on Open Education Resources. Two resources mentioned included OER: A Field Guide for Academic Librarians and cK-12 for the K-12 audience. 
Shared Collections
The Collection Development Committee is highlighting regional collections, including the University at Albany's Special Collections on Friday, June 21. 

Thank you to Melanie Metzger from Albany Public Library for recently presenting a CDLC collection maintenance workshop. The interactive program provided an opportunity for attendees to share ideas and strategies. We also learned about some unique collections in our region, including a Victoriana Collection at Round Lake Library. The program concluded with a tour of the Clifton Park-Halfmoon Library, celebrating their 50th anniversary. Thank you to them for hosting!
REMINDER: CDLC workshops and interest group meetings are open to all CDLC members! For planning purposes, we request that you register online for any of our events, and also let us know if your plans change. 
LIBRARIES IN THE NEWS:
 
The library community made their voices heard at a recent 2020 Census hearing in Albany, testifying on the importance of libraries being a key part of collecting accurate Census numbers. Articles covering the hearing were in the Schenectady Gazette and the Times Union. Eric Trahan, Director of the Mohawk Valley Library System, also a CDLC Board member, was among those who testified.
ATTENTION ELD Participants: If you are an Empire Library Delivery (ELD) participant, a reminder that excess bags should now be sent directly to CDLC.  If you have a large amount on hand please send them to CDLC, 28 Essex Street, Albany, NY 12206, VYD, HUB: ALB. Thank you!
Your comments and suggestions are always welcome. 
 
Kind Regards,
 

 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
© 2019 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500

Directions