Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Committee on Resource Sharing

This guide provides information about the Committee on Resource Sharing including the membership roster, general charges, past minutes, resources, and past events.

General Information

The Capital District Library Council operates two categories of committees to enhance the operation of the Council and its programs and services.

Board Committees are comprised of current board members and are standing committees charged with making recommendations to the CDLC Board regarding activities in which the Council is engaged or which relate to the way in which the Council operates.

Advisory Committees are formed on behalf of specific programs administered by the Council. Examples of Advisory Committees include the Coordinated Collection Development Committee and the Regional Automation Advisory Committee.

Each committee has a charge, approved by the Board, that addresses the committee's responsibilities, concerns, and composition of membership. All advisory committees have a Board liaison who is a voting member of the committee, as well as a CDLC staff member liaison who is an ex-officio member of the committee.

Charge and Guidelines

The chief purpose of the Committee on Resource Sharing (CORS), is to advise the Capital District Library Council (CDLC) and its members on those activities which relate to its resource sharing programs and services. These include, but are not limited to, the CDLC Interlibrary Loan Protocol, the CDLC Institutional Membership Guidelines and Standards, the Regional Union Catalog and the Union List of Serials, the Direct Access Program (DAP), and the Coordinated Collection Development (CCD) program. The Committee facilitates education, communication, and discussion of resource sharing developments, technologies, issues and concerns among the member libraries.


CORS is comprised of appointed members representing all sectors of library service, one of which will be the Board Liaison, one representing the largest academic provider of regional interlibrary loans and one from an institution representing the Hospital Library Service Program. The appointed members shall include:

  • Up to Four (4) representing member public library systems and/or libraries
  • Up to Four (4) representing member school library systems and/or libraries
  • Up to Eight (8) representing member academic institutions
  • Up to Two (2) representing member special libraries

Appointments to CORS will be made by the Board of Trustees in consideration of an individual's experience in reference and resource sharing library service, membership in professional groups, and their constituency representation, e.g., academic, public, school and special libraries.


Committee terms are for three (3) years (July 1 - June 30) with the possibility of an additional term. Members may occasionally be re-appointed by the Board for additional terms. Interim appointments made prior to December 31st will count for the full year. Appointments made from January 1st on, will have the term count begin the following July 1st , or by whatever other arrangement the Board of Trustees shall deem to be in the interest of the program.


The committee will have a voting Board of Trustees liaison member. CORS will represent itself to the RAA and CCD committees as well as other CDLC committees as deemed appropriate by the CDLC Board of Trustees.


The Chair of the committee will be elected by the committee prior to June 1st for a two-year term beginning July 1st. The Chair will submit to CDLC a report summarizing the committee's activities during the year, no later than May 1st of the current fiscal year.


Meetings will be held at least three (3) times annually with any additional ones convened as needed and as determined by the Chair, the Resource Sharing Coordinator, Board Liaison, and Executive Director. The agenda will be set by the Chair and the Resource Sharing Coordinator with consideration of any suggestions from the committee. The usual meeting venue will be at CDLC. The committee may also conduct business by electronic communication. Actions must be verified and made part of the minutes of the next regular meeting of the committee.


After three (3) consecutive absences without prior notice (to the Chair or the Resource Sharing Coordinator), the Chair may request a replacement member.


A majority of the committee will constitute a quorum for conducting a meeting. Recommendations and action items must be approved by a majority of appointed members present.

Ex officio members

The Board President, the Executive Director, the Resource Sharing Coordinator and other CDLC staff as appropriate may be ex officio members of the committee.

Written records

The meetings of CORS will have a written record consisting of the date, time, location, attendees, summaries of discussions and an enumeration of action items. The recorder for the meetings may be chosen on a regular or an ad hoc basis as the committee shall determine.  The minutes will be distributed to the committee and posted to the CDLC web site upon committee approval.


The Board of Trustees reserves the right to amend and/or clarify guidelines and/or procedures as they shall determine.

  • Revisded and approved by CORS, 2/10/16
  • Committee name change from the Committee on Interlibrary Loan (COIL) to The Committee on Resource Sharing (CORS) approved by the Board of Trustees, 2/9/07
  • Revised and approved by the Board of Trustees, 12/12/03
  • Revised and approved by COIL, 11/19/03
Loading ...

Committee Members

Member Institution Term End
Acker, Jennifer Hudson Valley Community College 2018
Bentley, Jane Questar III School Library System 2020
Booth, Debbie HFM BOCES School Library System 2020
Brent, Katherine SUNY ​​Cobleskill 2020
Felock, Tia Capital Region BOCES School Library System 2020
Herman, Andrea Crandall Public Library 2020
Jackson, Timothy University at Albany, SUNY 2020
Krzystyniak, Andy Skidmore College 2018
Mitchell, Kim (Chair) Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences 2018
Quinn Decatur, Wendy Albany Molecular Research Institute 2019
Reed, Robyn Union College 2020
Rieseler, Peter  The College of St. Rose 2020
Seidlinger, Kate Troy Public Library 2019
Strong, Angela Schenectady County Public Library 2018
Trahan, Eric Mohawk Valley Library System 2020
Wellspeak, Debra Albany Medical College 2018
Gundrum, Kathleen (ex officio) Capital District Library Council  
Wager, Emily (ex officio) Capital District Library Council  


Loading ...
© 2018 | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872