Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CDLC Member Library Tours in 2020: Academic Libraries

undefined

Skidmore College Collection Highlights

We kicked off our first tour on March 4, 2020, at Skidmore College’s Scribner Library.

The program started with a presentation by Charlie Bettigole, Director of the Skidmore GIS Center for Interdisciplinary Research. The lab is used to help students work with and understand data. GIS (Geographic Information System) software they use includes QGIS, R, Python, and Google Maps, Google Earth and Google Earth Engine. The Center is intentionally located in the library, as it is multi-disciplinary and used by several departments. 

Access GIS Center for Interdisciplinary Research Resources. 

Following this, Neal Matherne, a Scribner Library and Tang Museum Ethnographer funded by the Mellon Foundation, discussed his work, which has been focused on primary source collections that exist on Skidmore’s campus and exploring ways the library and museum can work together. He spends his time observing, interviewing, and hearing people tell their stories about their collections. There was a discussion about being more intentional about what is being collected, and interest in knowing how library patrons are using library spaces and collections.

The program ended with a tour of Scribner Library, which includes Special Collections with over 400 artists’ books, a comic book collection, a children’s literature room, and much more!. Thank you to Skidmore College for hosting us.

Hudson Valley Community College Tour Highlights

We hosted our first virtual tour on July 17, 2020 at Hudson Valley Community College's Marvin Library Learning Commons.

The program included a tour, guided by Anne Rappaport, Library Outreach Specialist at the Marvin Library Learning Commons. Below are the rooms explored during the tour.

First Floor

  • Entrance of the Marvin Library Learning Commons
  • Yellow Zone, including Graphic Novels, Children's Literature, and popular
  • Librarian Offices
  • Atrium & Cafe
  • 50th Anniversary Exhibition including artwork inspired by the Library
  • Periodicals & Magazines

Lower Level

  • Study Space (Yellow Zone)
  • Staff Offices
  • Mac Computer Space
  • Computer Learning Center
  • CLC Help Desk
  • Learning Assistance Center
  • Math Center
  • Flexible Learning Center

Second Floor

  • Writing & Research Center
  • Silent Study (Red Zone)
  • Stacks
  • Multipurpose Room

Shea Learning Center at Russell Sage College Highlights

We hosted our fifth virtual tour on October 20, 2020, featuring the Shea Learning Center at Russell Sage College.

The tour was given by Access Services Librarian Regina Vertone of Russell Sage College.

First Floor

  • Entrance of the Shea Learning Center.
  • Information Center
  • Sculpture Display
  • Computer Common Area
  • Print Stations and Resources
  • Study Space and Zoom Rooms
  • Lucile's Cafe

Lower Level

  • IT, Stacks, and Kathleen Donnelly Room
  • Teaching Classroom

Second Floor

  • Stacks and Study Spaces
  • Teaching Classroom
  • Carol Ann Donohue Poetry Room 

Third Floor

  • Academic Services
  • Stacks and Study Spaces
© 2022 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd | Latham | New York 12110
Phone: 518-438-2500
Directions