These lists are for informational use only and do not imply endorsement of the business. We are not monitoring whether or not they are still accepting orders and have no other information to provide. Please contact the business directly for information.
If you have additional links to vendors that you would like to share, please feel to email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Disaster Response and Planning for Libraries by Miriam KahnFire, water, mold, construction problems, power-outages--mishaps like these can not only bring library services to a grinding halt, but can also destroy collections and even endanger employees. Preparing for the unexpected is the foundation of a library's best response. Expert Kahn comes to the rescue with this timely update of the best step-by-step, how-to guide for preparing and responding to all types of library disasters. This completely revised third edition offers * Quick and efficient guidance for creating protocols and response plans tailored to your own institution * Pointers for handling all kinds of library materials when damaged * The last information on preparing for technology recovery * Up-to-date information on prevention equipment and materials * Dozens of reproducible checklists and forms, and a comprehensive list of resourcesKahn's guide gives libraries the tools they need to face any emergency, no matter the size or scope.
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
Disasters by Kathleen TierneyDisasters kill, maim, and generate increasingly large economic losses. But they do not wreak their damage equally across populations, and every disaster has social dimensions at its very core. This important book sheds light on the social conditions and on the global, national, and local processes that produce disasters. Topics covered include the social roots of disaster vulnerability, exposure to natural hazards such as hurricanes and tsunamis as a form of environmental injustice, and emerging threats. Written by a leading expert in the field, this book provides the necessary frameworks for understanding hazards and disasters, exploring the contributions of very different social science fields to disaster research and showing how these ideas have evolved over time. Bringing the social aspects of recent devastating disasters to the forefront, Tierney discusses the challenges of conducting research in the aftermath of disasters and critiques the concept of disaster resilience, which has come to be seen as a key to disaster risk reduction. Peppered with case studies, research examples, and insights from very different disciplines, this rich introduction is an invaluable resource to students and scholars interested in the social nature of disasters and their relation to broader social forces.
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Public Libraries and Resilient Cities by Michael DudleyPublic libraries are keystone public institutions for any thriving community, and as such can be leaders in making cities better places to work, play, and live. In this important book, noted urban planner and librarian Dudley shows how public libraries can contribute to "placemaking," or the creation and nurturing of vital and unique communities for their residents. Using case studies and other information from the field, the author Shows how public libraries can address pressing urban and environmental sustainability issues through smart urban design practices, making contributions to economic regeneration, and a commitment to social equity Provides examples of innovation in public library design, management, collaboration and public services Offers librarians, library administrators, and even urban planners the practical knowledge, tools, and vocabulary to overcome professional and disciplinary barriersFrom the economic renewal potential of library development projects, to the provision of public space in a privatizing world, from services for the homeless to crisis management during urban disasters, Public Libraries and Resilient Cities explores the vital role that public libraries can play in the promotion of ecologically, economically, and socially sustainable communities in challenging times.
Publication Date: 2012-10-18
Resilience by Rebekkah Smith Aldrich"Resilience" or "resiliency" incorporates preparations for and rapid recovery from physical, social, and economic disruptions, including environmental disasters, terrorist attacks, or economic collapse.Discussion of resilience has increased in the wake of several recent natural disasters, including Hurricane Katrina (25) and Hurricane Sandy (212). While these natural disasters have advanced the discussion, resilience is broadly applied as a strategy to help address climate change, natural disasters, and even terrorism. Following Hurricane Sandy, government officials at the federal, state, and local levels began thinking about changes that might prevent a repetition of the widespread devastation Sandy had caused. A 212 report from the National Academies asserted "Developing a culture of resilience would bolster support for preparedness and response, and would also enable better anticipation of disasters and their consequences, enhancing the ability to recover more quickly and strongly. Resilient communities would plan and build in ways that would reduce disaster losses, rather than waiting for a disaster to occur and paying for it afterward." In 213, the Rockefeller Foundation began working with 32 cities as the first cohort of a 1 Resilient Cities Initiative. According to the Foundation, resilience is "the capacity of individuals, communities, institutions, businesses, and systems within a city to survive, adapt, and grow no matter what kinds of chronic stresses and acute shocks they experience." The initiative provides participating cities with the resources to develop a roadmap to resilience, including the establishment of a chief resilience officer; strategy development; access to private, public and NGO partners that can help develop solutions and partnerships; and membership in a network of like-minded cities. Some of the indicators of resilient communities include access to public and mass transit, incorporating innovation inspired by nature (biomimicry), communication via mesh networks, community-supported agriculture, and more.As city, state, and the federal governments adopt resiliency as a strategy for addressing potential disasters, libraries may need to align their facilities, services, and programs to demonstrate a resilient strategy. Additionally, libraries may find themselves competing for funding with resilient programs or initiatives, especially in an increasingly limited pool of government spending. Resilience requires community involvement - encouraging individuals to make decisions that help prepare for and prevent the impact of disasters, providing resources and information to help them make informed decisions, and offerings programs and services that allow individuals to respond to issues as they arise. Libraries and information professionals may be ideal partners or providers in helping individuals adopt resilient practices in their communities. Resilience may also align with library values of equity and access. Truly resilient communities would embrace distributed renewable energy, support diversified local agriculture, and foster social equity and inclusion - all ensuring that communities can adapt to disruptions and avoid situations where the greatest impacts are felt by the most vulnerable members of the community.
Publication Date: 2018-06-07
Social Media Use in Crisis and Risk Communication by Harald Hornmoen (Editor); Klas Backholm (Editor)The ebook edition of this title is Open Access and is freely available to read online. Crises pose an immediate risk to life, health, and the environment and require urgent action. The public's use of social media has important implications for contingency policies and practices. Social media have the potential for risk reduction and preventive interaction with the public. This book is about how different communicators - whether crisis managers, first responders, journalists, or private citizens and disaster victims - have used social media to communicate about risks and crises. It is also about how these very different actors can play a crucial role in mitigating or preventing crises. How can they use social media to strengthen their own and the public's awareness and understanding of crises when they unfold? How can they use social media to promote resilience during crises and the ability to deal with the after-effects? Chapters address such questions by presenting new research-based knowledge on social media use during different crises: the terrorist attacks in Norway on 22 July 2011; the central European floods in Austria in 2013; and the West African Ebola-outbreak in 2014. The collection also presents research on the development of a tool for gathering social media information, based on a user-centered design. Social Media use in Crisis and Risk Communicationpresents cutting-edge research on the use of social media in crisis communication and reporting. It gives recommendations about how different crisis communicators (information officers, crisis managers, journalists) can improve their ability to gather information, communicate and raise people's crisis awareness by using social media.
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Legal Considerations Webinar
Legal Considerations for Libraries with Stephanie 'Cole' Adams - May 29, 2020 Recording (link)
Plans and Guidance on Reopening for the Capital District
This tool, through NYFoward, will help you determine whether or not your business is eligible to reopen in New York State, and the public health and safety standards with which your business must comply. Library and Archives are listed under NAICS code 519120, Museums are listed under NAICS code 712110.
Results from an ALA survey as a follow up to PLA’s March 2020 Public Libraries Respond to COVID-19 Survey. This survey of U.S. libraries documents a shift in services to support students, faculty, and communities at large during the crisis and phased preparations for the months ahead. More than 3,800 K-12 school, college and university, public, and other libraries from all 50 states responded to the survey between May 12–18, 2020.
"Each re-opening business must develop a written Safety Plan outlining how its workplace will prevent the spread of COVID-19. A business may fill out this template to fulfill the requirement, or may develop its own Safety Plan. This plan does not need to be submitted to a state agency for approval but must be retained on the premises of the business and must made available to the New York State Department of Health (DOH) or local health or safety authorities in the event of an inspection."
Strong libraries — and a well-supported library workforce — are essential to the recovery of communities devastated by the COVID-19 pandemic. This collection of tools, developed and updated by units across the American Library Association, will help communities, library workers, and library supporters plot the best course forward for their libraries, including Advocacy & Public Policy, Data & Research, Guidance Content & Protocols, Education, and News Updates.
The REopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums (REALM) Project has produced a systematic literature review to help inform the scope of the project’s research and the information needs of libraries, archives, and museums (LAMs). Battelle researchers completed the review, which includes findings from available scientific literature. This review focused on studies of virus attenuation on commonly found materials, such as paper, plastic, cloth, and metal; methods of virus transmission; and effectiveness of prevention and decontamination measures.
To reduce the spread of novel coronavirus, Americans may continue social distancing for many more months — but such precautions could last even longer for books kept at the nation’s libraries, said Tony Marx, the chief executive of the New York Public Library, the largest public library system in the U.S.