Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shared Collections ... Local Connections
Board of Trustees
Union List of Serials
Partial Union Catalog
New York Heritage
NYS Historic Newspapers
DAP: Direct Access Program
Coordinated Collection Development
Hospital Library Service Program
Medical Information Services Program
Ask Us 24/7
Ask the Lawyer
Ask the Accountants
Ask the HR Expert
Learn more about...
Becoming a Member
Acronyms & Abbreviations
Advocacy for Libraries
COVID-19: Updates & Information
Empire State Library Network
From the Director, April 2019
by Kariann Kakeh on
From the Director
Registration for the Annual Meeting closes April 26
From the Director.....
Dear CDLC members and supporters,
I shared this last month, but it's worth a repeat:
Education. Collections. Connections.
These driving principles of CDLC are reflected in our mission statement: "We partner with members to strengthen library service through education, shared collections and local connections."
We are working with our committees on projects and programs to support our mission. I will be sharing more over the Summer and providing a preview at our Annual Meeting. In addition to hearing about how we are connecting with colleagues and showcasing collections, several new CDLC Trustees will be elected at the meeting.
If you can't make it to the Annual Meeting (or even if you can), there are many upcoming programs and interest group meetings. For example, our
ScholCom interest group
is discussing Open Educational Resources on Thursday, May 16.
Review our calendar and register online.
Call for Committee Members:
We will be seeking committee members this Summer
visit our committee pages
to learn about our committees.
Save the Date:
The next InfoMingle is Wednesday, June 12 at
Join us in June:
High School to College Transition Interest Group
is planning "
Bridging the Gap: Preparing High School Special Needs Students for Success in College,
" on Monday, June 3 at The College of Saint Rose. Registration coming soon. Get a preview of this topic at the next
RIO meeting Thursday, May 9.
Collection Development Committee
is highlighting regional collections, including the
University at Albany's Special Collections on Friday, June 21
There are more to come in the Fall!
We had much to discuss at our initial
oral history meeting
earlier this month. Thank you to all that contributed to the conversation. From this, a working group is determining next steps, such as an online resource center or programs related to oral histories, including
Supporting Stories: Legal Guidance for Oral History Projects
There's more to come!
Libraries in the News:
We had a great time learning about
Voorheesville Public Library's
archives and special collections at a recent event sponsored by CDLC's Collection Development Committee. Attendees were treated to an overview of Voorheesville's history and the treasures held at this library, which were
recently highlighted in this article.
WORTH A READ:
2019 Higher Education Edition of
he Horizon Report
is available. Per the EDUCAUSE website, "This report profiles six key trends, six significant challenges, and six important developments in educational technology...it serves as a reference and technology planning guide for educators, higher education leaders, administrators, policy makers, and technologists."
OF INTEREST- 2020 Census News:
The NYS Complete Count Commission has announced public hearings to gain input and hear from Census experts and advocates, including one at the Rockefeller Institute of Government in Albany on
Monday, May 6 at 6 p.m.
These hearings will feature presentations by various entities involved in the census, as well as testimony from advocates, and the general public on a first-come, first-served basis.
In Case You Missed It:
Elsevier has agreed to its first "read-and-publish"
deal with a consortium in Norway
Come be part of the conversation at our Scholarly Communications Interest Group meetings.
Thank you Dennis!
Best wishes and happy retirement to Dennis Mott, who has worked at Begley Library at
Schenectady County Community College
for nearly 44 years! In addition to his active involvement with CDLC over the years, Dennis has meticulously overseen the distribution of Empire Library Delivery bags throughout the state for over a decade. His dedication and efforts will be missed!
Your comments and suggestions are always welcome.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
From the Director, May 2019
From the Director, April 2019
From the Director, March 2019
2019 CDLC Annual Meeting Registration Open
2019 Regional Collection Grant Recipients Announced
Library Advocacy Day 2019
2018 Member Survey Now Open
Your feedback is essential. How are we doing?
So long, Lynda, it was swell while it lasted!
As of December 19th, CDLC no longer offering access to Lynda.com as a member benefit due to a change in Lynda's pricing platform.
New Groups Formed
2017 Discount to the RDA Toolkit
RBDB 2017 Grant Recipients
NYLA Advocacy Day 2017
Regional Bibliographic Databases Program
2016 Discount to the RDA Toolkit
RBDB 2016 Grant Recipients
New York State Historic Newspapers Grant Recipients
2017 Computers in Libraries Discount
NY 3Rs Becomes ESLN
Pilot Projects 2016
CDLC Plan of Service 2016-2021
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
View blog archive by month and year
From the Director
Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.
Powered by Springshare.
All rights reserved.
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
© 2020 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206