Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shared Collections ... Local Connections
Board of Trustees
Union List of Serials
Partial Union Catalog
New York Heritage
NYS Historic Newspapers
DAP: Direct Access Program
Coordinated Collection Development
Hospital Library Service Program
Medical Information Services Program
Ask Us 24/7
Ask the Lawyer
Ask the Accountants
Ask the HR Expert
Learn more about...
Becoming a Member
Acronyms & Abbreviations
Advocacy for Libraries
COVID-19: Updates & Information
Empire State Library Network
Regional Bibliographic Databases Program
by Kariann Kakeh on
The Capital District Library Council invites applications for 2017 RBDB Grants through
February 6, 2017.
In addition to the Retrospective Conversion, Metadata, and Digitization grants, this year you may also apply for a Newspaper Grant through this application.
CDLC has allocated a pool of
for the 2017 grant cycle with the number and amount of individual grants awarded dependent upon the pool of applications. All CDLC member institutions, including individual public and school libraries, are eligible to apply.
These grants are funded through the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB). Established in 1984 as part of Education Law, funds from the RBDB program may be used for a variety of purposes to support regional resource sharing and automation that follow the
New York State RBDB Guidelines
. These guidelines include the criteria for the areas in which we are awarding grants, as well as expenses not allowed.
Projects considered for funding should improve access to collections and content or raise the visibility of regional collections.
Although, other types of proposals may be considered,
will be given to projects that:
Highlight undiscovered collections in our region
Align with CDLC's strategic goals (see our Plan of Service:
Have matching funds
Are submitted by first-time applicants
Are composed of long and complete runs of newspapers
Are newspapers on microfilm
For newspapers, if the title includes papers published after 1923, copyright clearance must be obtained. More information about copyright clearance can be found on the NYS Historic Newspapers tools page under "
Additional Contribution Information
Grant winners will be required to submit a final report describing how they expended the funds and the number of records converted or enhanced or the number of items digitized. Winners may also be asked to describe their project in a CDLC publication or present at a CDLC event.
Please note that unless an extension is requested and approved, all projects must be completed by
June 30, 2018,
or award money will be forfeited.
Grant applications must be received by the application deadline,
February 6, 2017,
to be considered.
A subcommittee of CDLC’s
Regional Automation Advisory Committee
will review applications and present recommendations to the CDLC Board of Trustees who will approve the applications.
with any questions about the application process.
Past winners and projects:
2016 RBDB Grant Recipients
2015 RBDB Grant Recipients
2014 RBDB Grant Recipients
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
From the Director, May 2019
From the Director, April 2019
From the Director, March 2019
2019 CDLC Annual Meeting Registration Open
2019 Regional Collection Grant Recipients Announced
Library Advocacy Day 2019
2018 Member Survey Now Open
Your feedback is essential. How are we doing?
So long, Lynda, it was swell while it lasted!
As of December 19th, CDLC no longer offering access to Lynda.com as a member benefit due to a change in Lynda's pricing platform.
New Groups Formed
2017 Discount to the RDA Toolkit
RBDB 2017 Grant Recipients
NYLA Advocacy Day 2017
Regional Bibliographic Databases Program
2016 Discount to the RDA Toolkit
RBDB 2016 Grant Recipients
New York State Historic Newspapers Grant Recipients
2017 Computers in Libraries Discount
NY 3Rs Becomes ESLN
Pilot Projects 2016
CDLC Plan of Service 2016-2021
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
View blog archive by month and year
From the Director
Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.
Powered by Springshare.
All rights reserved.
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
© 2020 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206