Join library experts and hundreds of your colleagues for interactive discussions on pressing issues in modern librarianship. American Libraries Live webcasts cover the full spectrum of library topics and give the ALA community a chance to learn about and discuss issues it deals with daily. Each program lasts 60 minutes.
Ticket includes a complete video archive from Electronic Resources & Libraries, March 8-11, 2020.
ER&L has made a long-term commitment to an online conference. We believe geography should not be a barrier to access to the conference content. All peer-reviewed sessions are included in the archives in addition to the keynotes and sponsored sessions. Presenter slides are also available from those presenters who granted permission for distribution.
Free Webinars include Personal Digital Archiving, and Writing a Preservation Plan. Long-term Preservation for Early Record Books, Writing Grants for Audio Preservation and Reformatting, The Digital Collections Assessment, How to Host a Community Scanning Day, Creative Fundraising for Preservation
LinkedIn Learning has opened up a number of free courses that focus on Remote Working.
You can choose to complete the entire Remote Working track or just take classes that are of interest to you. Classes include:
Working Remotely, Time Management: Working from Home, Productivity Tips: Finding Your Productive Mindset, Executive Presence on Video Conference Calls, Thriving @ Work: Leveraging the Connection Between Well-Being and Productivity, Managing Stress for Positive Change, Building Resilience, Developing Resourcefulness, Leading at a Distance, Managing Virtual Teams, Microsoft Teams Tips and Tricks, Learning Skype, Learning WebEx, Learning Zoom
A guide to laws, regulations and executive actions in the United States, at both the federal and the state level, and in various countries with respect to the new coronavirus and its spread. Also included are links to Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports that provide information to Congress about the novel coronavirus and links to relevant federal agency websites.
Useful information and resources for the library community. Libraries and the Coronavirus: Evolving Information and Resources is a compilation of links about what is happening in libraries and resources that can aid in decision-making.
The U.S. Census is still open! The date to self-respond has been extended due to the pandemic, so there is still time to respond online or by mail or telephone. This document provides a list of tips and ideas for libraries to promote the census during shutdown and reopening.
Administrative, Human Resources, and Financial Information
Libraries were included in the largest economic stimulus package in history, which passed March 27. The $2 trillion Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES) Act includes $50 million for the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) for digital inclusion projects and more than $30 billion in relief for schools and colleges, plus billions more for state and local governments and nonprofit organizations.
The Paycheck Protection Program prioritizes millions of Americans employed by small businesses by authorizing up to $349 billion toward job retention and certain other expenses. Small businesses and eligible nonprofit organizations, Veterans organizations, and Tribal businesses described in the Small Business Act, as well as individuals who are self-employed or are independent contractors, are eligible if they also meet program size standards.
Libraries have always played a special role in times of disaster by continuing to provide information services. The Stafford Act of 211 designates libraries as among the temporary facilities delivering essential services, so the federal government directive for a Continuity of Operations Plan for all its agencies is a planning imperative for libraries. Peppered with engaging first-person narratives from librarians recounting emergency situations Halsted, Clifton, and Wilson cover such topics as:* An eight-step approach to developing a risk assessment plan* Information on how to use mobile devices and social media effectively in times of disaster* Sample disaster plans, along with model exercises, manuals and customizable communications. Free resource provided by ALA.
This page seeks to compile information about the possible near- and long-term implications for the current coronavirus pandemic. It includes information about the possible ways communities will respond to the pandemic and implications for specific areas of society. We will continue to update the page with additional information – and we welcome your contributions for how libraries and library professionals can plan for the possible futures that may unfold.
Columbia University - The Fair Use Checklist and variations on it have been widely used for many years to help educators, librarians, lawyers, and many other users of copyrighted works determine whether their activities are within the limits of fair use under U.S. copyright law (Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Act).
The New York State COVID-19 Documentation Initiative is a committee made up of staff members from the State Archives, Library and Museum, as well as the Office of Cultural Education (OCE) Preservation Officer, who will be coordinating the documentation of the state’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Initiative will focus on the following areas in conducting its work:
In response to the worsening global health emergency, Atypon has created a website with a free, real-time feed that delivers the latest peer-reviewed research, preprints, and news on the novel coronavirus outbreak as soon as it is published.
Recording of the March 17, 2020, ACRL Presents webcast "Information Literacy Instruction at a (Social) Distance: Moving Library Instruction Online" with speaker Melissa Wong, adjunct Lecturer at the iSchool University of Illinois at Chicago.
This resource guide was created by ACRL to support the academic and research library community during global public health crises. The guide features resources for distance education and engagement, free professional development resources, best practices, and up-to-date information from public health officials.
For higher education librarians, including at college, research, community college, and special libraries, with questions about supporting rapidly shifting in-person instruction and research to remote, library copyright experts are offering informational office hours via Zoom.
Public Library Association (PLA) has created a free webinar series for public library staff at all levels. While these webinars are free, registration is required for each live webinar.
Recorded Webinars include:
Strategies for Advancing Digital Equity Now (presented on 4/23/2020)
National Survey Results (presented on 4/22/2020)
Innovative Solutions in Times of Crisis (presented on 4/16/2020)
Managing Stress and Anxiety (presented on 4/9/2020)
Successful Ways to Work Remotely (presented on 4/2/20)
The Current Landscape (presented on 3/26/20)
“Archivists at home” began as brainstorming advocacy tool by the Accessibility & Disability Section (Society of American Archivists) for developing a more flexible concept of archival labor, whether it is archivists working from home due to COVID-19 or archivists with disabilities. The document has evolved in scope to address needs of the archival community grappling with COVID-19 broadly, ranging from the workplace, choosing to temporarily close an archives, to working from home, supporting student and contingent workers, and a new section on flipping the narrative of COVID-19.
Questar III's March Newletter: This list of links gathers a diversity of information and sources regarding Covid-19 pandemic response and related issues, including resources for transitioning to online learning.