Skip to Main Content
General Information on Conservation and Preservation
- American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works
- The Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts - This organization also runs the Documentary Heritage Program of the State of New York or DHPSNY (even though it is located in Philadelphia!) DHPSNY offers free workshops and webinars on preservation and managing archives.
- Conservation OnLine
- Heritage Health Index - This page provides the results of a 2005 comprehensive survey of the condition and preservation needs of collections in U.S. institutions. The survey was done by Heritage Preservation and the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). Of special interest is the "Resources" section of the site. It provides links to reputable organizations in the areas of disaster planning, finding a conservator, locating training opportunities in preservation and conservation, funding sources for collections care, and other organizations that provide guidance in preservation-related issues.
- Image Permanence Institute of the Rochester Institute of Technology - Includes several wonderful publications related to storage environments as well as an interactive site, "Stored Alive," which demonstrates the deterioration of various types of material stored under different conditions. These are located under the Downloads link on the homepage. The homepage also includes a link to The Archival Advisor, IPI's preservation guide for family photograph collectors, genealogists, and scrapbook makers.
- Library of Congress Family Treasures - This is a well-organized and straightforward web site dedicated to "Preparing, Protecting, Preserving Family Treasures." The site has sections on Preparing Your Family Treasures, Protecting Your Family Treasures Every Day, and Preserving Treasures After the Disaster. Much of the advice can be applied to small archives as well.
- National Film Preservation Foundation - The site includes a pdf version of their Film Preservation Guide. The Guide is a full-length publication written for people without prior film preservation experience. To find the Guide on the site, click on "preservation basics" on the main page.
- Northeast Document Conservation Center
- Regional Alliance for Preservation
Emergency Preparedness and Recovery
Chicora Foundation "Dealing with Disasters"
Although the Chicora Foundation focuses on archeological artifacts, these pages provide good, succinct advice for dealing with disasters in any sort of cultural heritage organization. Note the links to information on mold, fires, and flooding at the top of the page.
COSTEP: Coordinated Statewide Emergency Preparedness
The COSTEP Framework is a planning tool designed to bring together cultural institutions with emergency management agencies and first responders. CDLC members may find the first two appendices of the Framework document especially helpful. Appendix A consists of a number of checklists. Appendix B lists organizations that provide further training on emergency preparedness.
A free, online disaster planning template designed for small and medium sized institutions that do not have any preservation staff.
Heritage Emergency National Task Force
One-stop shopping for information on dealing with disasters in cultural institutions. The site includes lots of information and links on dealing with disasters from cockling of your favorite family photograph to responding to huge region-wide events like Hurricane Katrina. There is also up-to-date information on any major disaster that is occurring in the United States, including links for requesting immediate assistance or financial help.
Guidelines for Library Binding from the Northeast Document Conservation Center: https://www.nedcc.org/free-resources/preservation-leaflets/7.-conservation-procedures/7.1-guidelines-for-library-binding
Find a professional binder for small or fragile jobs: The American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works provides lists of qualified conservators, including book binders. People on this list have attained professional designation in AIC. This means they have had their training, knowledge, and experience reviewed by a body of professional conservators who are recognized in the field for their commitment to establishing and upholding professional standards, promoting research and publications, partaking in educational opportunities, and fostering the exchange of knowledge in the field. Search under the specialty "Books and Paper" when searching for binders. http://www.conservation-us.org/membership/find-a-conservator#.Wv8Rtpch3yQ
Caring for Family Treasures
- American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works - Guides for Taking Care of Your Personal Heritage - This site provides short pamphlets with basic information on caring for various types of items such as furniture, paintings, video tapes, and books.
- Library of Congress - Protecting Your Family Treasures Every Day - The Library of Congress provides basic information arranged by material type on this site.
- Library of Congress - Preserving Your Digital Memories - A Library of Congress site that focuses on digital records, such as digital photographs, computer files, and email. Digital records are actually much less stable and more vulnerable to loss and degradation than older photographs, paper, and other analog documents. This site explains why and provides information on protecting digital material.
- Northeast Document Conservation Center - Caring for Private and Family Collections - A very short list of tips from one of the country's leading conservation labs.
- Society of California Archivists - Preserving Your History Brochure Series - This series is produced with the intent of assisting the general public. The brochures are available for download in English, Spanish and Chinese. The series currently consists of four titles: Doing Oral History, Doing Your Neighborhood History, Family Papers: Preservation and Organization, and Preserving Family Photographs.
- Videotape Identification and Assessment Guide -This guide provide basic information on identifying videotape formats, evaluating the condition of tapes and the costs of preserving them, and caring for those tapes that an institution chooses to preserve.
© 2021 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd | Latham | New York 12110