Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLSP Manual

This guide is meant for the Hospital Library Service Program members from CDLC.

I. Introduction

  1. The institutional mission
  2. The library's goal
  3. The user group
  4. Guidelines for the development of the collection
    • Responsibilities of selection
      • Who is responsible for the selection
    • Selection criteria
      • Monograph (online or paper) selection:
        • Subject
        • Audience
        • Authority of the author(s) or editor(s)
        • Current holding in the subject
        • Patron recommendation and critical review
        • Reputation of the publisher
        • Cost
      • Journal (online or paper) selection:
        • Subject
        • Audience
        • Reputation of the publisher/or sponsorship
        • Current subscription in the subject
        • Patron recommendation
        • Where indexed
        • Frequency and format
        • Cost
      • The following additional criteria should also be considered:
        • Space to house item
        • Availability through other CDLC or HLSP members
        • Appearance in Doody’s Core Titles in the Health Sciences
    • Gifts
      • Gifts may be accepted only with the understanding that your library may use the materials as needs dictate. Monographs and journals donated to the library must meet the same selection criteria as those purchased for the collection, in order be retained in the library collection.
    • Replacement (for non-online materials)
      • Criteria for book replacement:
        • Age of the material
        • Probability of a new edition within the next year
        • Usage data
      • Journal replacement:
        • Replace it through journal exchange with other libraries, or
        • Purchase a replacement copy
  5. Cooperative Agreement, if any (formal and informal)

II. Subject Coverage of Collection

  1. Minimal level
    • A collection is made beyond very basic works in a subject area
  2. Basic level
    • A highly selective collection which serves to introduce and define the subject, and to indicate the varieties of information available elsewhere. It may include major dictionaries, handbooks or other reference works, selected editions of important texts, a history of the subject, major bibliographies or comprehensive indexes, and a few major periodicals in the field.
  3. Extent of coverage of collection
    • A collection includes all significant works of recorded knowledge for a defined and limited subject area.

III. Weeding

Weeding may be defined as removal of materials from the active collection for discarding. It is a part of re-evaluating the collection. Your library committee may be asked to help you decide which items to discard. The following guidelines should be considered:

  1. It will not be done solely on the basis of circulation statistics, although these would be considered.
  2. Irreparably deteriorated, mutilated or damaged materials should be discarded.
  3. Materials containing outdated or inaccurate information should be weeded.
  4. Superseded editions should be considered for weeding.

IV. Membership of the Collection Development Group

The group should include, besides the library manager, representatives from each of the user populations, e.g. physicians, nurses, etc.

V. Date When Policy is Made and Approved

This should include when the policy was made and approved.

© 2021 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd | Latham | New York 12110
Phone: 518-438-2500
Directions