Skip to main content

Regional Automation Advisory Committee

This guide provides information about the Regional Automation Advisory Committee including the membership roster, general charges, past minutes, resources, and past events.

2018 Regional Collections Grant Application Information

The Capital District Library Council invites applications for CDLC’s 2018 Regional Collections grants through February 1, 2018.

Formerly known as Retrospective Conversion, Metadata, and Digitization (RBDB) grants, CDLC members may apply for a grant for a retrospective conversion or metadata project; a digital collection grant to contribute content to New York Heritage; or a digital newspaper grant to contribute content to NYS Historic Newspapers.

CDLC has allocated a pool of $35,000 for the 2018 grant cycle with the number and amount of individual grants awarded dependent upon the pool of applications. All CDLC member institutions, including individual public and school libraries, are eligible to apply.

Projects considered for funding should improve access to collections and content or raise the visibility of regional collections.

Priority will be given to projects that:

  • Highlight undiscovered collections in our region
  • Align with CDLC's strategic goals (see our Plan of Service)
  • Have matching funds
  • Are collaborative efforts between two or more CDLC members
  • Are composed of a complete digital collection
  • Are submitted by first-time applicants
  • Are composed of long and complete runs of newspapers that are on microfilm

Other types of proposals may be considered.

Past winners and projects are listed here.

For newspapers, if the title includes papers published after 1923, copyright clearance must be obtained. More information about copyright clearance can be found on the NYS Historic Newspapers tools page under “Additional Contribution Information” at http://tools.nyshistoricnewspapers.org.

Grant applicants will be required to submit a final report describing how they expended the funds and the number of records converted or enhanced or the number of items digitized. Libraries may be asked to describe their project in a CDLC publication or present at a CDLC event.

Please note that unless an extension is requested and approved, all projects must be completed by June 30, 2019, or award money will be forfeited.

Grant applications must be received by the application deadline, February 1, 2018, to be considered.

Application   Worksheet

A subcommittee of CDLC’s Regional Automation Advisory Committee will review applications and present recommendations to the CDLC Board of Trustees who will approve the applications.

This grant is funded through the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases (RBDB) Program. Established in 1984 as part of New York State Education Law, funds from this program may be used for a variety of purposes to support regional resource sharing and automation that follow the New York State RBDB Guidelines. Review these guidelines which include the criteria for the areas in which we are awarding grants, as well as expenses not allowed.

Contact Sue Rahn (518-438-2500 or srahn@cdlc.org) with any questions about the application process.

Thank you for your interest in making your collection more visible and accessible!

© 2017 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872

Directions