Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CDLC serves a 10 county region in Upstate New York: Albany, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Washington and Warren Counties. Institutions in our region that want to join New York Heritage must:
- Be a member of CDLC.
- Contact the CDLC Digital Project Manager, Susan D'Entremont, at firstname.lastname@example.org or 518-438-2500 expressing interest in joining.
- Fill out a brief application, provided by the Digital Project Manager. The application asks for information on what the institution plans to digitize, who will do the work, and what kind of skills and equipment the institution already has. An institution does not need prior experience in this area to participate. The questions on the application help the institution think about the goals of their project and provides information to CDLC so we can best provide support.
- Sign an agreement that the institution agrees to several stipulations that are needed for success in the project, such as allowing the digital asset management software on a computer, participating in training, and uploading a minimal number of items to New York Heritage in the first few weeks following training.
Institutions in other regions of New York State should contact their local council for information on how to join. Each region has slightly different requirements and procedures to best serve their region's needs.
Benefits of joining New York Heritage
- CDLC provides the digital asset management software.
- CDLC provides and maintains the web site for your digitized material.
- CDLC provides training and support.
- Your institution is eligible for grants for digitizing material to add to New York Heritage.
- Greater visibility of your material and institution.
- Improved access to your material, especially unique and fragile material.
Responsibilities of joining New York Heritage
- Choosing material to be digitized, with assistance from CDLC staff.
- Participating in New York Heritage training, which may be one-on-one or in a group setting, depending on needs.
- Digitizing material, either in-house or by a vendor.
- Creating metadata (catalog information) for digitized items, with training and assistance from CDLC staff.
- Providing CDLC with basic information about your institution and collections for the web site and so we can properly promote your collections.
Absolute Minimum Standards
We strongly encourage contributors to follow recommended guidelines and standards spelled out in other parts of this LibGuide. However, these are the minimum standards institutions must follow for their material to remain on New York Heritage.
Google Sheet Template for New Collections
A blank version of a Google Sheet used for recording information about new collections. If your institution is a CDLC member that contributes material to New York Heritage, you may contact CDLC for a sheet specific to your organization.
It is recommended that contributing institutions submit up to three "New York Heritage Topics" for each collection. The topics must be chosen from the list below. The topics are used as a browsing facet. For more information, see Part II of the Metadata Dictionary and Usage Guide.
- Arts & Entertainment
- Business & Industry
- Community & Events
- Daily Life
- Environment & Nature
- Ethnic Groups
- Geography & Maps
- Government Law & Politics
- Medicine, Science & Technology
- Military & War
- Philosophy & Religion
- Recreation & Sports
- Work & Labor
You are the best promoters of your material on New York Heritage. We highly encourage you to advertise and link to the materials your organization has contributed to New York Heritage. Contributing institutions that link to the New York Heritage on their homepage see many more visitors to their New York Heritage material than those who do not. Linking to your organization’s landing page can highlight your presence in the repository.
You can find New York Heritage logos, brochures, rack cards, other promotional material, and suggested text for your website on the "For Contributors" section of the New York Heritage website. These can be used on your website or printed out for distribution.
© 2022 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd | Latham | New York 12110