Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Continuing Education and Events: Past Events

This guide contains current and upcoming events of interest to librarians, archivist, library staff, and others in Capital District Region.

10/29/2014 - Annual Meeting 2014

Title: Innovation and Transformation: Showcasing CDLC Members
Date/Time: Wednesday, October 29th, 2014/11:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
Place: The Century House, Latham
Presenters:

  • Brenda Hazard, Library Director, and Katie Jezik, Catalog/Systems Librarian, Hudson Valley Community College, presenting Adding CDLC Digital Heritage Collections to EBSCO Discovery Service
  • Deanna DiCarlo, eLibrarian, Albany Public Library, presenting Social Outreach, Digital Content, and eLibrarianship
  • William (Mac) Sudduth, Ph.D., Executive Director, miSci, Museum of Innovation and Science, presenting on Transforming and Re-Branding a Museum Collaboration and Finding the Right Partners to Serve Our Communities

Cost: $25 for CDLC personal members, $30 for CDLC institutional members (staff at CDLC member libraries) and $40 for non-members.
Deadline: Wednesday, October 22nd
Sponsor: Halliday Financial

11:30-12:00   Welcome and Introductions, with a welcome from Halliday Financial, CDLC Business Meeting
12:00-1:00     Buffet Lunch
1:00-1:30       Brenda Hazard and Katie Jezik, Hudson Valley Community College
1:30-2:00       Deanna DiCarlo, Albany Public Library
2:00-2:30       William (Mac) Sudduth, Ph.D., miSci, Museum of Innovation and Science
2:30-3:00       Panel discussion with the speakers
 
Enjoy a relaxing program, network with colleagues, and get inspired with new ideas

07/29/2014 - Evernote Workshop

Title: Evernote & Productivity Tools
Date/Time: Tuesday, July 29th, 2014/ 9:00am - 3:00PM 
Place: CDLC Offices, 28 Essex Street, Albany
Presenter: Polly-Alida Farrington 
Cost: Program and lunch, is $30 for CDLC personal members and $35 for CDLC institutional members.
Deadline: Registration is limited to 20 individuals. ​
Sponsor: A program offered by CDLC's Regional Automation Advisory Committee (RAAC)


Do you ever lose track of information? Do you have post-it notes all over the place? Do you have brilliant ideas, then forget where you jotted them down?  In this workshop, we'll look at some tools to help conquer the information mess.
Evernote is an amazing tool for keeping track of everything you need to keep track of. At it's simplest, it's a great note-taking tool.  But that's just the start. With browser and app add-ons, you can clip web content directly into Evernote, save the full text of articles and web pages complete with sections highlighted, email notes and content from multiple devices, store documents, take video notes, record audio and more. And that's just the free version. With the premium version, you can store text searchable PDF files and more. It really can be your external brain!
Best of all, Evernote synchronizes with all your computers and portable devices, giving you access to your notes everywhere. Content can be organized into notebooks that are private or shared with others as need be. Notes can be tagged with your own keywords to help you find content later.
 
In this workshop, we'll delve into Evernote and its family of tools, including Clearly and Skitch. We'll also look at how other key productivity tools that complement or integrate with Evernote. These will include IFTTT, Diigo, and Dropbox.
If you don't already have an Evernote account, please sign up for the free service before the workshop, so we can dive right into working with the tools. http://goo.gl/rHE7a4 (this link will get you a free month of the Evernote Premium )

About the speaker: Polly-Alida Farrington is a consultant and the owner of PA Farrington Associates, with nearly 20 years of experience providing technology-related training, web project development and consulting services to libraries, library systems, and schools. You can visit Polly’s website at http://www.pafa.net

Please note: Please bring your wifi-enabled laptop with you for the session.  And if you have a smartphone and/or tablet, bring them with you so you can explore the app versions of tools too. If you don't have a laptop, please indicate that you will need one when you register; available on a first-come, first served basis.

07/23/2014 - NY Heritage Participants Meeting

Title: NY Heritage Meeting
Date/Time: Wednesday, July 23rd, 2014 / 9:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Place: CDLC Offices, 28 Essex Street, Albany
Cost: There is no cost for this meeting. CDLC will provide lunch for those interested in joining us. Please indicate this on the registration form.
Deadline: Friday, July 18th.
Contact: Susan D'Entremont at susan@cdlc.org.
Please note: Due to limited space, if you register and are unable to attend, please let Susan know. This meeting is open to current NY Heritage participants and to those interested in learning more about NY Heritage and how to participate. Both current and potential users are invited to stay for part or all of the day.


9:30-10:00: Intro meeting for people who want to find out more about joining New York Heritage (intended for anyone who is not a current NY Heritage participant, although current participants are welcome too)
10:00-10:30:   Staff updates, including Digital Public Library of America and new training resources on the website
10:30-12:00:   Participant presentations and discussion, tentatively including

  • Jim Davies and Deanna DiCarlo of Albany Public Library on publicizing their digital collections.
  • Josh Hauck-Whealton of miSci and Dudley Observatory on digitizing videos, putting them on YouTube and linking to NY Heritage
  • Ben Himmelfarb of Albany Public Library on using iMovie to digitize an item made up of two different formats - a recording and a slide show of photographs.
  • Brenda Hazard and Katie Jezik of Hudson Valley Community College on putting NY Heritage records into EDS (EBSCO Discovery Service) and increasing the visibility of NY Heritage Collections

Noon-1:00:    Optional lunch
1:00-4:00:      Optional informal lab/discussion time. CDLC staff will be available for questions and help. Other participants can stay and discuss their projects with each other.

06/23/2014 - CDLC Tech Tools Workshop

Title: CDLC Tech Tools Workshop
Date/Time: Monday, June 23rd, 2014/ 9:00am - 3:00pm
Place: CDLC Offices, 28 Essex Street, Albany
Presenter: Polly-Alida Farrington
Sponsor: A program offered by CDLC's Regional Automation Advisory Committee (RAAC)
Cost:Program and luncheon is $30 for CDLC personal members and $35 for CDLC institutional members .
Seat limit: 20 individuals
Please note: Workshop participants need to bring their own laptop (not tablet or handheld device) to participate in this workshop. A limited number of laptops are available. If you need access to one, please indicate this on the registration form. Available on a first-come, first-served basis.

NOTE: This session is a repeat of the Tech Tools Workshop offered on April 30th. Due to the high interest, we are pleased to be able to offer this workshop again. Thank you for your support!

Need a chance to catch up with the ever-changing stream of new (and not so news) tech tools? There's always something new that sounds interesting, fun and maybe even useful! But sometimes it's hard to find time to test them out and figure out what to do with them.

During this workshop, we'll look at productivity tools that can help you during your workday, social media services that can help you connect with your community, graphics and presentation tools, cloud storage options and much more. You'll have a chance to explore lots of tools (new and old!) and share ideas with your colleagues. You'll come away with some new tips and tricks in your tool-kit and decide which tools are right for you, your library, your community. Bring a list of your favorite tools or ones that baffle you. No question is too silly, bring them all!! 

Much of the day will be driven by the participants and what they want to learn with time to test out different tools. This workshop is relevant to any library staff member who is comfortable using technology tools.


About the speaker: Polly-Alida Farrington is a consultant and the owner of PA Farrington Associates, with nearly 20 years of experience providing technology-related training, web project development and consulting services to libraries, library systems and schools. Prior to starting PA Farrington Associates, Polly was an Associate Librarian at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, NY with 17 years experience in reference, government documents, ILL, and technology.  Polly has a keen interest in how libraries & schools are using technology and adapting to change and loves helping people explore emerging technologies and assess how technology can help deliver better services to customers. You can visit Polly’s website at http://www.pafa.net

06/20/2014 - DHP Lunch and Learn

Title: Backing Up and Moving Forward: Practical Preservation for Your Institution’s Digital Assets
Date/Time: Friday, June 20th, 2014 / 12:30 p.m.-2:00 p.m.
Place: CDLC Offices, 28 Essex Street, Albany
Presenter: Matthew Shepherd, Digital Archive Program Assistant at New York State Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation and Volunteer Digital Collections Assistant at Rensselaer County Historical Society
Cost: Free
Deadline: Tuesday, June 17th.
Sponsor: A program offered by the Documentary Heritage Program (DHP)
Please Note: Attendees should bring a lunch. Beverages and dessert will be provided. Due to a limited number of seats, if you register and are unable to attend, please contact Susan D'Entremont at susan@cdlc.org.


Digital records can be more fragile and difficult to preserve than those on paper. This program will provide an introduction to the threats to digital records and steps participants can take to preserve those records. The information provided in this workshop can be applied to personal, institutional and archival digital records, such as email, scanned images, spreadsheets, Word documents, and digital photographs.

For participants who do not yet have a digital preservation plan, this presentation will help them begin to draw one up. For those who do have a plan, it will help them evaluate that plan.

During this Lunch-And-Learn session, presenter Matthew Shepherd will present an overview, with ample time for discussion.


This program is sponsored by the Capital District Library Council and supported in part by Documentary Heritage Program (DHP) funds provided by the New York State Archives, State Education Department.

5/19/2014 - Marketing Your Archives

Title: Marketing Your Archives
Date/Time: Monday, May 19th, 2014 / 12:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
Place: CDLC Offices, 28 Essex Street, Albany
Presenter: Deirdre Joyce, Assistant Director and Regional Archivist at Central NY Library Resources Council
Sponsor: A program offered by the Documentary Heritage Program (DHP)
Cost: There is no cost for the program, which is open to all.
Deadline: Thursday, May 15th
Please note: Due to a limited number of seats, if you register and are unable to attend, please contact Susan D'Entremont at susan@cdlc.org.
Local history rooms and historical organizations are known for their enthusiastic volunteers and their often small but dedicated group of supporters. We know that our local history is important and valuable, but how do we get our message out to our neighbors who might share this passion? How do we tell potential patrons what we have and what we do? This half-day workshop focuses on getting the message out. We will look at both traditional forms of media as well as tools, tips and techniques for social media, including writing a news release and choosing a social media tool that is right for your collections.

We will also talk about building grassroots advocacy and its importance in creating support for our institutions and collections. The class will feature brainstorming sessions for your collections as well as showcase examples of ideas that have worked from all over the United States. This class is suitable for any organization wishing to get the message out about their collections.

By the end of this class, participants will:
  • be familiar with the different approaches to public relations and marketing with examples of how they are used in cultural heritage organizations
  • think about the best ways to reach different kinds of audiences with the various marketing tools available
  • identify resources and programs that can support their own organization's programming goals

This program is sponsored by the Capital District Library Council and supported in part by Documentary Heritage Program (DHP) funds provided by the New York State Archives, State Education Department.

05/07/2014 - CDLC ILL Field Day

Title: CDLC ILL Field Day: It's Not Just ILL Anymore
Date: Wednesday, May 7th, 2014, 9:00 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Place: Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library
CostProgram and lunch is $20 for CDLC personal members, $25 for CDLC members, and $30 for non-members.
Deadline: May 5, 2014
Sponsor: CDLC's Committee on Resource Sharing (CORS)


9:00-9:25: Coffee and Registration
9:25-9:30: Introductions
9:30-10:00: OCLC Update
10:00-10:30: Delivery Services Update
10:30-10:45: Break
10:45-11:15: CDLC Program Updates: Coordinated Collection Development, Direct Access Program, Electronic ILL Form, ILLiad Group
11:30-12:15 Featured Morning Speaker Loretta Ebert, Research Library Director, New York State Library, NOVEL Update
12:15-1:00: Lunch with Table Talks
1:00-1:30: NY3Rs/Statewide Cooperative Projects Update
1:30-2:30: Featured Afternoon Speaker Sheryl Knab, Executive Director, Western New York Library Resources Council, Demand-Driven E-Book Pilot Project
2:30-3:10: Lightning Rounds on New York's Resource Sharing Issues and Initiatives, including IDS, RapidILL, ConnectNY, and Public Library Issues and Policies
3:10-3:30: Wrap-Up, with Reports from Table Talks<


CDLC has partnered with the New York Library Association (NYLA) to process registrations.

11/19/2013 - Annual Meeting 2013

Title: 2013 CDLC Annual Meeting: Take Home A Toolbox...for yourself, for your library, and for your users.
Date/Time: Tuesday, November 19, 11:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
Place: The Century House, Latham
Presenters:
  • Emily Thompson, Learning Technologies Librarian, State University of New York at Oswego, Technology and its impact on users
  • Geoffrey Kirkpatrick, Library Director, Bethlehem Public Library, It's not just about the 3D printer: how technology is changing the relationship between public libraries and patrons
  • Polly-Alida Farrington, Consultant and Owner, PA Farrington Associates, 30 tools in 30 minutes…technology tools useful to librarians personally and professionally
Cost: $20 for CDLC personal members, $25 for CDLC institutional members (staff at CDLC member libraries) and $30 for non-members
Deadline: November 12
Sponsor: Halliday Financial
© 2019 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872

Directions