Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Continuing Education and Events: 10/13 A Diversity Audit of Juvenile Picture Books: What we did, what went well, what we would never do again!!

This guide contains current and upcoming events of interest to librarians, archivist, library staff, and others in Capital District Region.

A Diversity Audit of Juvenile Picture Books

A Diversity Audit of Juvenile Picture Books: What we did, what went well, what we would never do again!!

This event is being held online via a Zoom meeting. 

Stephanie Anderson of Albany Public Library will share the library staff's experiences and lead a discussion on doing a diversity audit of their picture book collection. 

From Stephanie: 

After attending multiple webinars and training sessions related to creating diverse collections, I was frustrated by a lack of information on the "How To".  I chose to use an outside vendor for APL's overall collection, but with picture books, genres and subjects are not always listed in the record of the book. A hands-on approach appeared to be a good way to assess what was in APL's collection.  A working group of Youth Services Librarians and I would have to figure out how to structure an audit from the ground-up, without any solid examples to guide us. 

In this discussion, I am going to go over what our working group at APL created, what went well, and what absolutely did not work at all. I have several suggestions for "what to do the next time", based on what we learned throughout this process. This discussion will be less about outcomes, and more about "how do I start"  with information on the pitfalls you may encounter along the way. The outcomes of our audit were encouraging. 

About the Presenter: Stephanie Anderson has been the Head of the Collection Management Services Department of Albany Public Library since 2018.  Prior to joining APL in 2014, she spent time as a Children's Dept. Lead Bookseller and Merchandising Manager for Barnes & Noble. She has an MSIS in Archives and Records Management from SUNY-Albany. To encourage the CMS Staff's professional development, she often enrolls them in collections or cataloging courses, as a group, for fun!  

Related LibGuide: Diversity Equity Inclusion

Date:
Thursday, October 13, 2022
Time:
11:00am - 12:00pm
Location:
Zoom Meeting
Categories:
  Continuing Education     Remote Event     Webinar  

Resources

© 2022 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd | Latham | New York 12110
Phone: 518-438-2500
Directions