Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ILL Web Resources - Libraries and Library Catalogs
- New York State Library - The New York State Library (NYSL) permits New York State residents, 18 years and older, to directly borrow items from the library’s circulating collection and also offers remote access to the NOVEL databases. To register, follow the directions on the website.
- NOVEL - New York Online Virtual Electronic Library. An electronic database access project that enables libraries across New York State to give their communities online access to the full text of hundreds of journals, newspapers and other references. Access is available through your local library website or with a NYSL Borrower's Card (see above).
- The New York Public Library - A Branch Libraries' card from NYPL is free to anyone who lives, works, pays property taxes, or attends school in New York State. To register, follow the directions on the website.
- Library of Congress
- Connect NY - A unified catalog of participating academic libraries in New York State designed to allow authorized users of participating libraries to borrow materials from other Connect NY libraries if the books are not owned by their home library or if their library's copy is already checked-out.
- Worldcat Resource Sharing - The source for all information on OCLC interlibrary loan and resource sharing.
ILL Web Resosurces - Books
The following sites may be useful to verifiy the existence of a title.
ILL Web Resources - Books Online
- The Online Books Page - The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all.
- readprint.com - Free online books for students, teachers, and the classic enthusiast.
- The Internet Archive - The Internet Archive is a 501(c0(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
ILL Web Resources - Journals, Magazines, Newspapers
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals - This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. They aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1333 journals in the directory. Currently 328 journals are searchable on article level. 60819 articles plus are included in the DOAJ service.
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center - Search a bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations on education topics going back to 1966. Over 100,000 full text available for free.
- FlyingPublisher - Offers links to free medical journals, free medical books, and links to medical websites.
- IngentaConnect - Offers one of the most comprehensive collections of academic and professional research articles online - some 17 million articles from 28,000 publications, including 6,100 online.
- MagPortal - Free searchable collection of full text articles from a small group of periodicals.
- New York State Newspaper Project - Identifies, describes, preserves, and makes available to researchers the significant newspapers in all communities in New York State.
- PubMed - “PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 millian citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950’s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other ralated resources.”
- PubMed Central - The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- United States Newspaper Program - A cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
ILL Web Resources - Miscellaneous
- Interlibrary Loan Fact Sheet - Basic information for North American libraries on transacting interlibrary loan requests.
- Internet Public Library
- The LIBLICENSE Project - Created by the Center for Research Libraries, the project's website contains everything you ever wanted to know about library licenses. Some of the resources include; definitions, explanations, models a discussion forum and more.
- ShareILL - A gateway to electronic and print resources pertaining to all aspects of interlibrary loan (ILL), document delivery, and resource sharing.
- UMI’s Dissertation Publishing - Provides access to over 2 millian doctoral dissertations and master’s theses.
- United States Patent and Tradmark Office - Provides access to patents from 1790 to the present and to more than 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks.
© 2021 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206