Skip to Main Content

About CDLC

General Information

The Capital District Library Council (CDLC) is a non-profit membership organization that provides continuing education, access to and awareness of library collections, access to digital resources, member grants, and advocacy efforts to libraries and cultural institutions in ten counties of upstate New York. 

Members include all types of libraries: academic, public, school (K-12), medical, non-profit and corporate. Our service area encompasses Albany, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington counties.

We are one of nine regional library councils serving libraries and library systems across New York State who collectively comprise the Empire State Library Network.

We are managed and governed by an elected Board of Trustees. 

CDLC received its provisional charter from the Board of Regents on June 26, 1966, and its absolute charter on September 24, 1971. Permanent statutory support was achieved on December 8, 1978.

Staff

Kathleen Gundrum, Executive Director, x125

Jared Craw, Administrative Coordinator, x134

Maria DeGaetano, Business Services Coordinator, x132

Susan D'Entremont, Digital Project and Continuing Education Manager, x130

Kariann Kakeh, Communications and Technology Librarian, x126

Christopher Tosh, HLSP Coordinator, x122

Meghan Wakeman, Resource Sharing Librarian, x127

Plan of Service 2021-2026

CDLC completes and submits a Plan of Service to the New York State Education Department every five years. This plan identifies and provides an overview of our current and future services and programs.

Mission and Goals

Mission Statement

The Capital District Library Council partners with members to strengthen library service through education, shared collections, and local connections.

Approved by the Board of Trustees November 2017


Goals

  • Promote leading-edge reference and research resources to the region.
  • Strengthen cooperation among academic, hospital, corporate, and other specialized libraries; museums and archives; and public and school library systems.
  • Facilitate communication among CDLC members and their staff.
  • Support exploration and innovation in library services.

Approved by the Board of Trustees February 2012

CDLC Statement on Diversity

Capital District Library Council (CDLC) is committed to creating diverse, equitable, and inclusive practices in all aspects of its programming, education, operations, and staffing. We believe that promoting and supporting a diverse workforce in the local information industry is a benefit to our members and their communities. Services will not be denied to CDLC members based on, but not limited to, race, ethnicity, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, age, ability, religion, spiritual beliefs and traditions, or military status. CDLC is an Equal Opportunity Employer.

Approved by Board Feb 18, 2022

Membership Information

Capital District Library Council provides support, consultation, services and opportunities for engagement to libraries and cultural heritage organizations within the greater Capital District region of New York.

Membership is open to libraries and library systems of all types: academic, public, school, corporate, hospital, government agencies, historical societies, museums, and archives. Bringing together regional collections and local connections, members achieve together what could not be achieved separately.

Directions

As of November 1, 2021, the Capital District Library Council offices are located in the NYSUT building at 800 Troy Schenectady Road in Latham, NY.

© 2022 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd | Latham | New York 12110
Phone: 518-438-2500
Directions