Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Collection Development Committee

This guide provides information about the Collection Development Committee including the membership roster, general charges, past minutes, resources, and past events.

Subjects

Twenty-one CDLC academic institutions receive over $160,000 annually in New York State Coordinated Collection Development Aid (CCDA), which is administered on behalf of the New York State Library by the Empire State Library Councils.

The CCDA program promotes regional coordination of collection development in academic libraries by providing annual grants based on enrollment to public and not-for-profit colleges, universities, and community colleges that meet certain conditions. These conditions include constitutional eligibility to receive State aid, membership in a reference and research library resources system, and full participation in interlibrary loan and other resource sharing programs.

CDLC's Collection Development Committee (CDC), an advisory committee to the CDLC Board of Trustees, is charged to develop, implement and evaluate plans and other activities for Coordinated Collection Development within the Capital District Region.  

Libraries receiving Coordinated Collection Development Aid are polled annually regarding their subject area responsibilities and any changes are approved by the Board of Trustees.

CCD Guidelines for Resource Sharing

Institution Subject Area(s)
Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Medical Chemistry; Pharmacy
Albany Law School Criminal Justice; Law - International; Law - U.S.
Albany Medical College Medicine
Albany Memorial Hospital School of Nursing Nursing
The College of Saint Rose Education - Elementary; Special Education; English Literature
Ellis Hospital School of Nursing Nursing
Empire State College Public Policy - NOTE: Library patrons served by the Capital District Library Council may set up an appointment to use the Westlaw database at the Office of Integrated Technology's public access terminal by sending an email to: librarian@esc.edu, or going to the library's home page at http://www.esc.edu/library and using the Ask a Librarian service to schedule an appointment.
Excelsior College Nursing - NOTE: Public access to the OvidSP research database is available on the Excelsior College campus 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. T, TH & F and 8:30 to 8:00 p.m. M & W (no Saturdays or Sundays). This database offers full-text articles from select titles in the OvidSP collection. You can search additional Ovid titles for over 2000 journals (indexed with abstracts) in fields including clinical medicine, behavioral & social sciences, life sciences, nursing, physical science & engineering, and psychology. Please call to arrange a visit: Chris Westcott, 518-464-8577; Bethany de Barros, 518-608-8358; or Jane Weyers, 518-608-8372.
Fulton-Montgomery Community College Applied Science; Human Services
Hudson Valley Community College Allied Health Sciences; Applied Technologies
Maria College Nursing; Allied Health; Occupational Therapy; Healthcare Management
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Architecture; Business; Information Technology
Sage Colleges Educational Curriculum; Graphic Arts; Women's Studies
Samaritan Hospital School of Nursing Nursing
Schenectady County Community College Hotel Technology; Culinary Arts; Paralegal Studies; Public Safety including Fire Science; Travel and Tourism
Siena College Religion; Economic Development; Multicultural Studies USA; Community Development; Rural Development Sustainability; Urban Development
Skidmore College Anthropology; Archeology; Environmental Science; Fine Arts/Art History; Multicultural Studies
SUNY Adirondack Natural Sciences; Nursing; Sociology; Psychology
SUNY Cobleskill Agriculture/Natural Resources; Education - Early Childhood
Union College Engineering - Mechanical; History - American; Modern Languages; Political Science
University at Albany (SUNY) Anthropology; Atmospheric Sciences; Biology; Business; Criminal Justice; Educational Psychology; Psychology; Public Policy; Social Welfare
Subject Area(s) Institution
Agriculture/Natural Resources SUNY Cobleskill
Allied Health Services Hudson Valley Community College
Maria College
Anthropology Skidmore College
University at Albany (SUNY)
Applied Science Fulton-Montgomery Community College
Applied Technologies Hudson Valley Community College
Archeology Skidmore College
Architecture Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Atmospheric Sciences University at Albany (SUNY)
Biology University at Albany (SUNY)
Business

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
University at Albany (SUNY)

Community Development Siena College
Criminal Justice Albany Law School
University at Albany (SUNY)
Culinary Arts Schenectady County Community College
Economic Development Siena College
Education - Elementary The College of Saint Rose
Education - Early Childhood SUNY Cobleskill
Educational Curriculum Materials Sage Colleges
Educational Psychology University at Albany (SUNY)
Engineering - Mechanical Union College
English Literature The College of Saint Rose
Environmental Science Skidmore College
Fine Arts/Art History Skidmore College
Graphic Arts Sage Colleges
Healthcare Management Maria College
History - American Union College
Hotel Technology Schenectady College Community College
Human Services Fulton-Montgomery Community College
Information Technology Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Law - International Albany Law School
Law - United States Albany Law School
Medicine Albany Medical College
Medicinal Chemistry Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Modern Languages Union College
Multicultural Studies Siena College
Skidmore College
Natural Sciences SUNY Adirondack
Nursing SUNY Adirondack 
Albany Memorial Hospital School of Nursing
Maria College
Samaritan Hospital School of Nursing
Ellis Hospital School of Nursing
Nursing Excelsior College - NOTE: Public access to the OvidSP research database is available on the Excelsior College campus 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. T, TH & F and 8:30 to 8:00 p.m. M & W (no Saturdays or Sundays). This database offers full-text articles from select titles in the OvidSP collection. You can search additional Ovid titles for over 2000 journals (indexed with abstracts) in fields including clinical medicine, behavioral & social sciences, life sciences, nursing, physical science & engineering, and psychology. Please call to arrange a visit: Chris Westcott, 518-464-8577; Bethany de Barros, 518-608-8358; or Jane Weyers, 518-608-8372.
Occupational Therapy Maria College
Paralegal Studies Schenectady College Community College
Pharmacy Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Political Science Union College
Psychology SUNY Adirondack 
University at Albany (SUNY)
Public Policy Empire State College - NOTE: Library patrons served by the Capital District Library Council may set up an appointment to use the Westlaw database at the Office of Integrated Technology's public access terminal by sending an email to: librarian@esc.edu, or going to the library's home page at http://www.esc.edu/library and using the Ask a Librarian service to schedule an appointment.
Public Policy University at Albany (SUNY)
Public Safety, including Fire Science Schenectady College Community College
Religious Studies Siena College
Rural Development Sustainability Siena College
Social Welfare University at Albany (SUNY)
Sociology SUNY Adirondack
Special Education The College of Saint Rose
Travel & Tourism Schenectady College Community College
Urban Development Siena College
Women's Studies Sage Colleges
Loading ...
© 2018 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872

Directions