Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Continuing Education and Events: 05/19/2014 - Marketing Your Archives

This guide contains current and upcoming events of interest to librarians, archivist, library staff, and others in Capital District Region.

Marketing Your Archives


Monday, May 19th, 2014
12:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
CDLC Offices, 28 Essex Street, Albany

Presented by Deirdre Joyce, Assistant Director and Regional Archivist at Central NY Library Resources Council

A program offered by the Documentary Heritage Program (DHP)


Local history rooms and historical organizations are known for their enthusiastic volunteers and their often small but dedicated group of supporters. We know that our local history is important and valuable, but how do we get our message out to our neighbors who might share this passion? How do we tell potential patrons what we have and what we do? This half-day workshop focuses on getting the message out. We will look at both traditional forms of media as well as tools, tips and techniques for social media, including writing a news release and choosing a social media tool that is right for your collections.

We will also talk about building grassroots advocacy and its importance in creating support for our institutions and collections. The class will feature brainstorming sessions for your collections as well as showcase examples of ideas that have worked from all over the United States. This class is suitable for any organization wishing to get the message out about their collections.

By the end of this class, participants will:

· be familiar with the different approaches to public relations and marketing with examples of how they are used in cultural heritage organizations

· think about the best ways to reach different kinds of audiences with the various marketing tools available

· identify resources and programs that can support their own organization's programming goals


There is no cost for the program, which is open to all. 

Registration is required by Thursday, May 15th.

Due to a limited number of seats, if you register and are unable to attend, please contact Susan D'Entremont at susan@cdlc.org

 


This program is sponsored by the Capital District Library Council and supported in part by Documentary Heritage Program (DHP) funds provided by the New York State Archives, State Education Department.

 


 

 

© 2018 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872

Directions