Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Continuing Education and Events: 11/28 - Empire Shared Collection Webinar

This guide contains current and upcoming events of interest to librarians, archivist, library staff, and others in Capital District Region.

Empire Shared Collection Webinar

Join us for a webinar with Christopher Keough, Annex Manager of the Empire Shared Collection.

The Empire Shared Collection Repository is the result of a collaboration between many New York State Libraries to develop a cost-effective method to preserve serial print collections within our consortia.  This was accomplished by reducing the overlap of serial collections amongst the participating libraries based on the holdings of materials housed within high-density storage at SUNY Buffalo.  To date, the Empire Shared Collection Program has 13 members and contains 32,243 titles encompassing 673,799 items. 

In this presentation, Mr. Keough will discuss the methods they undertook to analyze the serial overlaps of each of the participating libraries and will also display examples for discoverability of Empire Shared Materials through a variety of different platforms and how in conjunction with the IDS Project, we can streamline borrowing workflows for institutions.

Christopher (CJ) Keough is the Project Manager for the Empire Shared Collection Program and the Manager of the Libraries Annex, a high-density remote storage facility affiliated with the University at Buffalo.  Previously to his position at the Annex, CJ was the Interlibrary Loan Supervisor for both campuses within the University Libraries.  CJ received his MLS for the University at Buffalo in 2012. 

Call-in information will be shared prior to the program. Watch from your home library or join us for a viewing at CDLC.

Date:
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Time:
10:00am - 12:00pm
Location:
CDLC, Small Meeting Room
Categories:
  Webinar     Continuing Education  
© 2018 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872

Directions