Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Continuing Education and Events: 11/01 - Member Showcase

This guide contains current and upcoming events of interest to librarians, archivist, library staff, and others in Capital District Region.

Member Showcase

We hope you can join us for this year's Member Showcase at Maria College in Albany!

The event is being held in the McAuley Building, Room 126, which is a different building than last year. 

Please view the campus map to see the exact location.

Agenda:

9:00-9:30 Registration

9:30-9:45 Welcome

9:50-11:15 Panel Presentations (10-15 minutes each. More information below.)

11:15-12:00 Panel Discussion

12:00-12:30 Optional Library tour

Presentations to include:

Accessing Archives
Jenifer Monger, Assistant Institute Archivist, Institute Archives and Special Collections, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Folsom Library, will present  “Augmenting the Archives: Accessing 19th Century Documents Through the Lens of 21st Century Technology."

Digitizing Yearbooks
Maria College staff will talk about their most recent digitization effort to put their yearbooks online.

Digitizing Audio Collections
Chris Hunter, Vice President of Collections & Exhibitions at miSci, will present on their broadcasting collections, which have been tied closely to two of their regional digitization grants – one for audio recordings and one for text materials.

Getting Started with Online Exhibits
Presented by Gail Winters amd Tenaya Bannon, both of Clifton Park Halfmoon Public Library. Gail is the former Head of Adult Services, who has continued to serve a few hours a week as Local History Librarian. Tenaya is the part-time Local History Librarian.  They will discuss how they used Omeka to create two online exhibits: one chronicling the library building, 10 years after it was built, and its place in the library's history; and the other describing the history of the Erie Canal in the Town of Clifton Park. Both exhibits include text, images, and oral histories. 

Partnering to Create the Hamilton Themed Albany History Race
Jim Davies, Branch Manager and Local History Librarian at Albany Public Library, will be joined by Patrick Stenshorn, Director of Interpretive Programs, Albany Institute of History and Art. They will discuss their planning and collaboration for an Albany History Race event that occurred on September 7 throughout the City of Albany.

Virtual Reality: The Future of Education
Tia Felock, Automation Coordinator at Capital Region BOCES, will discuss working with schools, districts, and Global Foundries to promote awareness of virtual reality and how it can be used in education.

 

Date:
Friday, November 1, 2019
Time:
9:00am - 12:30pm
Location:
Maria College
Categories:
  Continuing Education                             

Resources

© 2019 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500

Directions