Skip to Main Content
For Libraries and Librarians
Docline (no usage if not a member)
Free interlibrary loan system that is run and maintained by the NLM for the use of libraries who are members of the national network of libraries of medicine.
Medical Library Association
“The Medical Library Association (MLA) is a nonprofit, educational organization with more than 4,000 health sciences information professional members and partners worldwide. MLA provides lifelong educational opportunities, supports a knowledge base of health information research, and works with a global network of partners to promote the importance of quality information for improved health to the health care community and the public.”
The United States National Library of Medicine, the largest medical/health library in the world.
The National Network of Libraries of Medicine. “Member libraries and information centers in the NN/LM provide health professionals and the general public with health information resources and services.”
A site that provides quick access for evidence [systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews (including evidence-based policy briefs), primary studies included in systematic reviews and structured summaries of that evidence)] for decisions about health systems.
The free federal search system for accessing the Medline (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online – citations for health and biomedical articles indexed by the NLM) database.
Upstate NY and Ontario Chapter of MLA (UNYOC)
The local chapter of the MLA. Provides local continuing education and networking opportunities, and is much less costly to join.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services that works to protect public health and safety.
Access to thousands of health articles, videos, and tools for patients to research a variety of topics.
Registry of clinical trials maintained by the NLM.
“Heath information and resources about illnesses, conditions, and diseases provided by the organization of American Academy of Family Physicians.”
Portal for health news and resources maintained by the United States government.
US government website for consumers which provides reliable health and wellness information.
Lab Tests Online
“A public resource on clinical lab testing from the laboratory professionals who do the testing.”
Medical Abbreviations Tables
The Brooklyn Hospital Center's list of Approved Medical Abbreviations and Abbreviation Exclusions.
Free website run by the NLM which provides reliable health and medical information for consumers as well as healthcare providers.
Health and medical information provided by Merck the well known and trusted medical publisher.
National Institute of Health's Health Information
Health Information – A free health information website maintained by the NIH.
The National Institutes of Health - the United States Department of Health and Human Services agency responsible for health and biomedical information and research.
New York Online Virtual Electronic Library – Informational databases, including health-related information, provided for free to New Yorkers by New York State.
NYS Health Department
The New York State Health Department – information on healthcare and healthcare providers in NYS as well as NYS health regulations and enforcement.
Your Medicare Coverage
Is my test, item, or service covered by Medicare?
NLM website that provides “health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.”
The United States Government’s Food and Drug Administration. This is the regulatory/enforcement branch of the federal government in charge of food and drug safety.
On December 12, 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information. NLM is retiring ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal, two chemical property information sites, to better focus our development efforts on a single, integrated source of chemical information. All of the data found in ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal is currently available and will continue to be available in PubChem.
American Cancer Association
“Dedicated to helping persons who face cancer. Supports research, patient services, early detection, treatment, and education.”
National Cancer Institute
"Accurate, up-to-date, comprehensive cancer information from the U.S. government's principal agency for cancer research.”
American Diabetes Association
“The American Diabetes Association is leading the fight against the deadly consequences of diabetes and fighting for those affected by diabetes.”
American Heart Association
Group that tries to“build healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.”
© 2023 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
800 Troy Schenectady Rd, Latham New York 12110