Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Interest Groups: Overview

This page provides information about our interest groups.

About Our Groups

CALA: Capital Area Library Assistants

This group seeks to enhance communication and interaction between library staff, to distribute information on other organizations specifically designed to benefit library support staff and to facilitate professional development of library support staff.

CATS: Cataloging and Technical Services

This group provides a forum to discuss issues that encompass all areas of technical services. Topics may include ILS migration, batch loading of electronic resources, copy cataloging training, cataloging unique and challenging items.

HS2C: High School to College Transition Interest Group

This group provides a forum for high school, academic and other librarians to come together to discuss how to prepare high school students for college level research, what high school students should expect when they get to college, and how to make this transition easier for students. 

Preservation: Preservation Interest Group

This group focuses on preservation-related issues.

RIO: Reference, Instruction, and Outreach

This group provides a forum to discuss RIO issues while sharing ideas about potential speakers and workshops. Topics may include reference services, library promotion strategies, use of social media, information literacy, media literacy, virtual instruction, community engagement, library programming, and collaboration among campus groups.

SCIG: Scholarly Communications Interest Group

This group provides a forum to learn and share ideas about the various aspects of scholarly communication. Topics may include research, data collection & analysis, authoring, peer review, publication & copyright, grant compliance, discovery & dissemination, and impact.

Currently on hiatus. 

SLIG: Solo Librarian Interest Group

This group provides an opportunity for solo librarians to share problems, successes and ideas as well as network together. Topics may include library management, promotion strategies, use of social media, community outreach, and library programming.

Join us for a Meeting

Subscribe to an Email List

Join a Group!

CDLC maintains a number of unmoderated Google Groups that revolve around issues of interest to librarians and library staff. Once you join a list you are welcome to participate, ask questions, and send announcements.

  • cdlc-l@cdlc.org: General discussions and announcements of interest to CDLC members
  • cala@cdlc.org: Capital Area Library Assistants Interest Group
  • cats@cdlc.org: Cataloging and Technical Services Interest Group
  • hlsp@cdlc.org: For those interested in Health Librarianship
  • hs2college@cdlc.org: High School to College Transition Interest Group
  • pres-ig@cdlc.org: Preservation Interest Group
  • reference-l@cdlc.org: Reference, Instruction, Outreach Interest Group
  • scholarly-comm@cdlc.org: Scholarly Communications Interest Group
  • slg@cdlc.org: Solo Librarians Interest Group

If you are interested in joining any of these groups you can send an email to [group email]+subscribe@cdlc.org.  For example to join CDLC-l send an email (from the email account you'd like to subscribe!) to cdlc-l+subscribe@cdlc.org.

CDLC also maintains various closed groups for members of our board, committees, and other working groups. If you contribute to CDLC in this capacity, we will automatically add you to that group email list.

© 2021 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500
Directions