Skip to main content

Regional Automation Advisory Committee

This guide provides information about the Regional Automation Advisory Committee including the membership roster, general charges, past minutes, resources, and past events.

Current Regional Collections Grant Recipients

CDLC is excited to announce the recipients of the CDLC 2018 Regional Collections Grants which provide an opportunity for libraries, museums, and historical societies to make their undiscovered collections accessible for all to discover and enjoy. This year we were able to provide funding to eleven institutions.

Congratulations to our recipients and thank you for making your unique collections available!

  • Castleton Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will be creating records for a number of local history items related to the Village of Castleton-on-Hudson and the Town of Schodack allowing for greater visibility and broader access to the material.
  • Cohoes Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will be digitizing a 24 year run of the Cohoes Republican from 1895-1919. This newspaper is of particular interest to researchers of early Cohoes history as well as genealogists and will be made available through NYS Historic Newspapers.
  • Maria College Library plans to digitize the Maria College newsletter, Promarian adding its contents to New York Heritage. This project will help preserve and provide a cultural and historical perspective of the faculty and students of the college.
  • miSci will continue to add to their vast New York Heritage collection, contributing 250 unique documents relating to the history of radio broadcasting in the Capital Region- just in time for the commercial radio centennial which begins in 2020!
  • North Warren Central School District, a member of the Washington, Saratoga, Warren, Hamilton, and Essex BOCES (WSWHE), will be cataloging over 400 books on the Adirondacks. This collection was donated by a local community member and broadly represents the history and folklore of the largest protected natural area in the continental United States.
  • Pember Library and Museum (Granville), a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), will continue to contribute early issues of the Granville Sentinel for inclusion to NYS Historic Newspapers. The paper gives a unique historical perspective of the Slate Valley region and the many people who migrated there to work in the quarries.
  • Rensselaer County Historical Society will be creating records for a number of currently uncataloged items relating to the history of Rensselaer County allowing for greater visibility and broader access to the material by genealogists, local community members, teachers, storytellers, and classes of primary and secondary students.
  • Schenectady County Community College is digitizing a number of images and newspaper clippings regarding the founding of the College's School of Hotel, Culinary Arts, and Tourism for inclusion to New York Heritage.
  • Schenectady County Historical Society will be adding a new collection to New York Heritage consisting of hundreds of photos depicting Ellis Hospital taken during the mid-20th century. Subjects include various units of the hospital, doctors and nurses, technological advancement, and social life.
  • Schenectady County Public Library, a member of the Mohawk Valley Library System (MVLS), will add The Citizen, a newspaper founded in 1910 by Schenectady resident George R. Lunn, the first Socialist mayor in New York State. Dating from 1910-1918, the newspaper is used by scholars researching early 20th century political and labor issues and will be available through NYS Historic Newspapers.
  • Troy Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will be digitizing two bound volumes of a Lansingburgh newspaper entitled American Spy. Published from 1791-1797, it is one of the oldest newspapers published in the area and will be of great value to local historians, researchers, and genealogists.  The paper will be made available through NYS Historic Newspapers.

Grant applications were reviewed by a grants sub-committee that included members of CDLC’s Regional Automation Advisory Committee, comprised of Jill Ryder (Southern Adirondack Library System), Tim McDonough (Waterford Public Library), Colleen Smith (Town of Ballston Community Library), and Tessa Killian (SENYLRC.) Projects were considered that improved access to collections and content or raised the visibility of regional collections while meeting the goals of CDLC's Plan of Service. Committee recommendations were approved by RAAC and the CDLC Board of Trustees.

These grants are made possible through funding by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB).

© 2018 | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872