Skip to main content
Shared Collections ... Local Connections

Regional Automation Advisory Committee

This guide provides information about the Regional Automation Advisory Committee including the membership roster, general charges, past minutes, resources, and past events.

2018 Regional Collection Grant Projects - Second Round

This year, we were excited to be able to offer a second round of Regional Collection Grants. Please continue reading to learn about the projects we are helping to fund!

Again, congratulations to our recipients and thank you for making your unique collections available!

  • St. Thomas the Apostle School, a member of Capital Region BOCES’ School Library System, will catalog the library's 4,000+ titles, enabling them to join the Capital Region BOCES centralized digital catalog of eighty-three public and private schools. 
  • Cohoes Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will digitize and include in the NYS Historic Newspapers Database issues of the local Cohoes American newspaper. This title is used by patrons to research early Cohoes history as well as for genealogy research. 
  • The Folklife Center at Crandall Public Library,  a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), was awarded funds to hire a consultant to work with staff to continue to add materials to the New York Heritage Digital Collections website. An early contributor to this statewide effort, the Folklife Center recently completed a project that added over 500 items. They will continue to add items to New York Heritage consisting of art, folk art, and artifacts, targeting Glens Falls/Saga City Japan Sister City Collection, the Nell Pruyn Cunningham Indian Basket Collection, Folk Art & Artists Collection, Csaplar Lake George Collection.
  • Maria College Library will scan and digitize the Maria College Anniversaries Collection. The library will digitize invitations, programs, proclamations, speeches, letters, and advertisements with celebratory congratulations from dignitaries and companies of the 25th, 50th and 60th anniversaries. This year, Maria College celebrated its 60th anniversary on April 25, 2018.
  • NYS Military Museum will add over 800 oral histories from NYS veterans of all eras to New York Heritage. The museums' New York Heritage collection is one of the largest and most popular collections from the Capital District.
  • Rudolf Steiner Library will use the grant to continue to catalog one of the most unique collections in the Capital District.  The titles held by the Anthroposophical Society are requested by various libraries across the nation. 
  • Schenectady County Community College was awarded funding that will allow the library to purchase a flatbed scanner in order to digitize color photographs. 
  • The College of Saint Rose will create original catalog records for a collection of theses written by St. Rose graduate students and include research in the fields of counseling, teacher education, music education, communication and sciences disorders, and English. 

Grant applications were reviewed by a grants sub-committee that included members of CDLC’s Regional Automation Advisory Committee, comprised of Jill Ryder (Southern Adirondack Library System), Tim McDonough (Waterford Public Library), Colleen Smith (Town of Ballston Community Library), and Tessa Killian (Southeastern Library Council) Projects were considered that improved access to collections and content or raised the visibility of regional collections while meeting the goals of CDLC's Plan of Service. Committee recommendations were approved by RAAC and the CDLC Board of Trustees.

These grants are made possible through funding by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB).

Former Grant Recipients

CDLC is excited to announce the recipients of the CDLC 2018 Regional Collections Grants which provide an opportunity for libraries, museums, and historical societies to make their undiscovered collections accessible for all to discover and enjoy. This year we were able to provide funding to eleven institutions.

Congratulations to our recipients and thank you for making your unique collections available!

  • Castleton Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will be creating records for a number of local history items related to the Village of Castleton-on-Hudson and the Town of Schodack allowing for greater visibility and broader access to the material.
  • Cohoes Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will be digitizing a 24 year run of the Cohoes Republican from 1895-1919. This newspaper is of particular interest to researchers of early Cohoes history as well as genealogists and will be made available through NYS Historic Newspapers.
  • Maria College Library plans to digitize the Maria College newsletter, Promarian adding its contents to New York Heritage. This project will help preserve and provide a cultural and historical perspective of the faculty and students of the college.
  • miSci will continue to add to their vast New York Heritage collection, contributing 250 unique documents relating to the history of radio broadcasting in the Capital Region- just in time for the commercial radio centennial which begins in 2020!
  • North Warren Central School District, a member of the Washington, Saratoga, Warren, Hamilton, and Essex BOCES (WSWHE), will be cataloging over 400 books on the Adirondacks. This collection was donated by a local community member and broadly represents the history and folklore of the largest protected natural area in the continental United States.
  • Pember Library and Museum (Granville), a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), will continue to contribute early issues of the Granville Sentinel for inclusion to NYS Historic Newspapers. The paper gives a unique historical perspective of the Slate Valley region and the many people who migrated there to work in the quarries.
  • Rensselaer County Historical Society will be creating records for a number of currently uncataloged items relating to the history of Rensselaer County allowing for greater visibility and broader access to the material by genealogists, local community members, teachers, storytellers, and classes of primary and secondary students.
  • Schenectady County Community College is digitizing a number of images and newspaper clippings regarding the founding of the College's School of Hotel, Culinary Arts, and Tourism for inclusion to New York Heritage.
  • Schenectady County Historical Society will be adding a new collection to New York Heritage consisting of hundreds of photos depicting Ellis Hospital taken during the mid-20th century. Subjects include various units of the hospital, doctors and nurses, technological advancement, and social life.
  • Schenectady County Public Library, a member of the Mohawk Valley Library System (MVLS), will add The Citizen, a newspaper founded in 1910 by Schenectady resident George R. Lunn, the first Socialist mayor in New York State. Dating from 1910-1918, the newspaper is used by scholars researching early 20th century political and labor issues and will be available through NYS Historic Newspapers.
  • Troy Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will be digitizing two bound volumes of a Lansingburgh newspaper entitled American Spy. Published from 1791-1797, it is one of the oldest newspapers published in the area and will be of great value to local historians, researchers, and genealogists.  The paper will be made available through NYS Historic Newspapers.

Grant applications were reviewed by a grants sub-committee that included members of CDLC’s Regional Automation Advisory Committee, comprised of Jill Ryder (Southern Adirondack Library System), Tim McDonough (Waterford Public Library), Colleen Smith (Town of Ballston Community Library), and Tessa Killian (SENYLRC.) Projects were considered that improved access to collections and content or raised the visibility of regional collections while meeting the goals of CDLC's Plan of Service. Committee recommendations were approved by RAAC and the CDLC Board of Trustees.

These grants are made possible through funding by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB).

CDLC is excited to announce the recipients of the CDLC 2017 Retrospective Conversion, Metadata, Digitization, and Newspaper grants which provide an opportunity for libraries, museums, and historical societies to make their undiscovered collections accessible for all to discover and enjoy. This year we were able to provide total funding of $35,000 to thirteen institutions.


Congratulations to our recipients and thank you for making your unique collections available!
  • Crandall Public Library, a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), will be adding 250 objects related to the greater Glens Falls region to their New York Heritage collection. Highlights include H.A. Ferguson's "Covered Bridge over the Hudson River" (1882), a pin from the Boys Savings Club (a project of our founder Henry Crandall), and a hand-painted bass drum of the Glens Falls City Band circa 1915.
  • The Dudley Observatory will create metadata for approximately eight cubic feet of documents that were produced concerning micro-meteorite research done at the Observatory thereby increasing access for educators and researchers. The documents include, micro-meteorite images, reports on findings, grant proposals, and even contracts with NASA.
  • Hudson Valley Community College will expand digital access to documents published pre-1960, while also developing a collegiate sports and athletics sub-collection to New York Heritage.
  • Irish American Heritage Museum will contribute 400 titles related to the Irish and Irish American History, heritage, and culture to OCLC and the CDLC catalog, creating increased access for resource sharing.
  • Maria College Library will digitize "The Mariale," the college’s spring literary magazine from 1961-1964 and 1966-1976 and add them to New York Heritage. With over 446 creative works contained within, the paper provides a glimpse into an important time in American History.
  • Museum of Innovation and Science will be adding 250 historic audio recordings to New York Heritage. These include experimental sound-on-film recordings from 1929, oral history recordings of GE engineers and researchers, historic local broadcasts from the 1940’s and 1950’s including several episodes of “Your Home Town”, a local history radio program and more.
  • Pember Library and Museum (Granville), a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), will contribute early issues of the Granville Sentinel for inclusion in the NYS Historic Newspapers database. The paper gives a unique historical perspective of the Slate Valley region and the many people who migrated there to work in the quarries.
  • Saratoga Springs Public Library a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), will increase digital access to their Robert Joki Stereoscopic Collection by adding images to New York Heritage, their Omeka digital collection, and creating finding aids through Empire ADC.
  • Schenectady County Historical Society will digitize and add the Glen Family Letters Collection to New York Heritage. This collection will be particularly valuable for researchers of Early American History. Henry Glen was a merchant, politician and deputy quartermaster general based in Schenectady during the American Revolution.
  • St. Mary's Institute, a member of HFM BOCES School Library System, will convert the school library's 4000+ card catalog records to MARC records, enabling them to join the Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery (HFM) BOCES centralized digital catalog. This will allow them to offer their students more seamless access to the many resources a centralized library catalog provides.
  • Troy Public Library, a member of Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), will digitize the early years of the Lansingburgh Gazette from the end of 1798 through mid 1883. Newspapers are an important tool for genealogists and researchers, providing access to marriage and death notices which predate the New York State Department of Health’s mandate for registering vital records. The newspaper will be available through the NYS Historic Newspapers database.
  • Union College will add three Civil War-era archival collections to New York Heritage. Written by men who fought and died in battles like Antietam and the Battle of Cold Harbor, these collections include letters about daily and camp life, military maneuvers, and passages concerninng several Acts of Congress that enabled African Americans to enlist in the military.
  • University at Albany will provide original cataloging for over 250 Master's theses titles dating from 1914 through 1979 in the areas such as Education, Atmospheric Sciences, and Public Policy. These theses are important to researchers in the history of graduate education and the records will be added to OCLC and UAlbany's catalog thereby facilitating resource sharing.
Grant applications were reviewed by a grants sub-committee that included members of CDLC’s Regional Automation Advisory Committee, comprised of Jennifer Ferriss (Southern Adirondack Library System), Tim McDonough (Waterford Public Library), and Nancy Poehlmann (University at Albany), and Tessa Killian (SENYLRC.) Projects were considered that improved access to collections and content or raised the visibility of regional collections while meeting the goals of CDLC's Plan of Service. Committee recommendations were approved by RAAC and the CDLC Board of Trustees.

These grants are made possible through funding by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB).

2016 RBDB Grant Recipients

CDLC is excited to announce the recipients of the CDLC 2016 Retrospective Conversion, Metadata and Digitization grants.

These grants provide an opportunity for libraries, museums and historical societies in our region to make their undiscovered collections accessible for all to discover and enjoy.

Congratulations to the recipients and thank you for making your unique collections available!

Grant recipients are:

 

  • Albany Public Library, a member of the Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), for cataloging eighty maps of Albany residing in their local history collection.
  • Darrow School, a member of the Questar III School Library System, for preserving documents in the Darrows Archives, to create finding aids for the collection and to provide access to these documents by digitizing each one in order to share the collection with the wider local, state, and worldwide community.
  • Guilderland Public Library, a member of the Upper Hudson Library System (UHLS), for digitization and creation of metadata for two previously undocumented collections using CONTENTdm software. One collection includes 21 photographs of structures in Guilderland, most of which no longer exist. It also includes early views of United States Highway 20, dating back to when it was an unpaved thoroughfare.
  • Hudson Valley Community College for cataloging photographs, yearbooks, handbooks, campus-produced video recordings, and other college publications.
  • Maria College for conversion and digitization of the Religious Sisters of Mercy and Maria College Glee Club albums to compact discs and MP3s.
  • NYS Military Museum for digitization of the third section of the 15th New York National Guard enlistment cards. These cards are for the historically African-American regiment for the years of 1920-1949.
  • Rensselaer County Historical Society for digitization of local newspapers The Clarion and The Sun which were published between 1886 and 1887 as labor papers for the large population of factory and industrial workers in Troy.
  • Rudolf Steiner Library for an ongoing retrospective cataloging project originally begun in 2009; primarily works by Rudolf Steiner and other anthroposophical authors, including Waldorf education materials.
  • Schenectady County Historical Society for digitization and creation of metadata for images that highlight the history of the city of Schenectady, specifically images of Schenectady's street scenes.
  • Union College for the creation of metadata in New York Heritage (NYH) for a variety of Civil War ­era material being digitized in the College Archives and targeted for uploading to NYH and for the enhancement of metadata for The Encyclopedia of Union College History, which has already been digitized and published on NYH.

Grant applications were reviewed by a grants sub-committee of CDLC’s Regional Automation Advisory Committee, comprised of Jennifer Ferriss (Southern Adirondack Library System), Tim McDonough (Waterford Public Library), and Nancy Poehlmann (University at Albany). Projects were considered that improved access to collections and content or raised the visibility of regional collections while meeting the goals of CDLC's Plan of Service.  Committee recommendations were approved by RAAC and the CDLC Board of Trustees.

These grants are made possible through funding by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB).

 

2016 NYS Historic Newspapers Grant Recipients

The Capital District Library Council (CDLC) is pleased to announce the recipients of a pilot grant for participation in the NYS Historic Newspapers, a site that provides free online access to a wide range of New York newspapers. CDLC offered this grant opportunity to member libraries in our ten-county region as a way to increase access to and visibility of their collections.

The 2016 Grant Recipients are:


The Greenwich Free Library, a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System, has been awarded a grant in the amount of $7,900* to digitize 171 years of the Washington Journal, spanning 1842-2013.

RCS Community Library, a member of the Upper Hudson Library System, has been awarded a grant in the amount of $10,100* to digitize 123 years of the Ravena News-Herald, spanning 1873-1996.

Schenectady County Public Library, a member of the Mohawk Valley Library System, in partnership with the Schenectady County Historical Society, has been awarded a grant in the amount of $3,400* to digitize 50 years of the Schenectady Reflector, spanning 1835-1885.

*All grant amounts are approximate, depending on production costs.

This pilot grant program was extremely competitive with 12 member libraries requesting almost $300,000 to digitize 22 titles. The grants were awarded based on the length of the publication run, the age of the newspapers, and their ability to increase the geographic representation in NYS Historic Newspapers. Based on the interest this grant generated, the Regional Automation Advisory Committee (RAAC) of CDLC will explore offering the grant again next year.

The New York State Historic Newspaper project is administered by the Northern New York Library Network. It is an Empire State Library Network (ESLN) initiative, and participation in this project is available to all CDLC members.

Please visit http://nyshistoricnewspapers.org for more information about NYS Historic Newspapers or contact Susan D’Entremont (susan@cdlc.org) if you are interested in participating in this project.

2015 Regional Bibliographic Databases Program Grant Recipients

The recipients of the CDLC 2015 Retrospective Conversion and Metadata grants, funded by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB), range from academic libraries to rural public libraries to museums in our region.

All CDLC members are eligible to apply for these grants, which provide an opportunity for libraries, museums and historical societies to make their unique and varied collections accessible via online catalogs or as digital collections for all to discover and enjoy.

This year, we were able to provide total funding of over $17,000 to nine institutions.

Congratulations to the recipients and thank you for making your unique collections available:

·         Albany College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage of items from the College Archives such as historic papers, photographs, commencement bulletins, and student newspapers.

·         The College of Saint Rose for retrospective conversion of assessments from the Emery Educational and Clinical Services Center at the college. 

·         Crandall Public Library, a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage from the library’s Special Collections Folklife Center.

·         Dudley Observatory for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage for items from Dudley’s historical archives and artifacts. The story of Dudley’s “Scientific Sweatshop” will be documented. 

·         Fort Edward Free Library, a member of the Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), for retrospective conversion of titles from the library’s local historical collection.  

·         Hudson Valley Community College for retrospective conversion of titles from the college archives, as well as digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage.

·         Middleburgh Public Library, a member of the Mohawk Valley Library System (MVLS), for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage for items from the library’s Local History Room and the Dr. Best House & Medical Museum.

·         miSci (Museum of Innovation and Science) for retrospective conversion of items including titles relating to the electrical industry, engineering, business, and Schenectady history. 

·         New York State Military Museum for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage for enlistment cards of the 15th New York National Guard unit.



 

2014  Regional Bibliographic Databases Program Grant Recipients


CDLC is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Retrospective Conversion and Metadata grants, funded by the New York State Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB). 

Grant recipients are: 

  • Albany Institute of History & Art for retrospective conversion of special collection books, original cataloging of manuscript single sheets, and original cataloging of manuscript finding aids.
  • Crandall Public Library for retrospective conversion of titles from the Folklife Center Serials collection –local and regional history, genealogy, Folklife studies, 19th century publications.
  • Dudley Observatory for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage from the Observatory’s historical archives and artifact collections such as lantern slides, globes, telescopes.
  • Guilderland Public Library for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage for a collection of yearbooks from the Farnsworth Middle School. 
  • Hudson Valley Community College for retrospective conversion of titles from the college archives and other college publications. Titles also will be digitized and made available in New York Heritage. 
  • miSci for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage for images from the GE Research Laboratory Photo Collection.
  • NYS Military Museum for digitization and creation of metadata in New York Heritage for enlistment cards for men from the 15th New York Unit (the African-American unit).
  • Rudolf Steiner Library for retrospective conversion of titles from the Rudolf Steiner Library of the Anthroposophical Society in America into OCLC. 
  • Skidmore College for digitization and creation of metadata in Skidmore’s CONTENTdm platform for Skidmore College publications.

The RAAC subcommittee that reviewed the 2014 grant applications is:   Maria McShane (The College of Saint Rose), Mary Ann Warner (Schenectady County Public Library), Colleen Smith (Albany Law School) and Jane Bentley (Questar III).

The Regional Bibliographic Databases Program (RBDB) was established in 1984 as part of Education Law. Funds provided for the RBDB Program may be used for a variety of purposes to support regional resource sharing and regional automation. 

 

Loading ...
© 2018 cdlc.org | Capital District Library Council
28 Essex Street | Albany | New York 12206
Phone: 518-438-2500 | Fax: 518-438-2872

Directions